Take Your Modified Application Installer And Shove It!

imageModified application installers – a good thing that allows a user to select a bevy of additional software (browser toolbars, homepage alterations ……..) or, just one more example of enterprise feeding the greed machine?

A nasty comment? Too strong a sentiment, perhaps? More to the point – do I even have the right to question how a free application is packaged? Probably not – but, I can let my fingers do the talking by walkin’  – away, that is.

That being the case – it seems counterproductive to annoy me (and, other users), by insisting that I play a silly game of “uncheck the boxes”, in order to install an application. A moments inattention and, in nothing flat – the user is faced with a “gotcha”.

I’ve covered this issue previously in – We Don’t Want No Stinkin’ Toolbar! so, I won’t bludgeon the question to death (well, maybe just a little), except to offer this from the previous article.

So here’s a question for “ethical” freeware providers. How many toolbars do you think an average user needs? Ten? Twenty? Thirty………….. ?

I can already hear your answer “ but the user can uncheck the appropriate boxes when installing the application”.

Sure! Unless you’re detached from the real world, you’re more than aware that a typical user does not uncheck this box. Then, over time, the user is at a loss to explain why their machine has slowed to a crawl.

Could it be because your toolbar, along with twenty others, become active at startup – ya think!!

Of all the reader comments on this article – not one was supportive of developers, or download sites, that  behave in this manner.

Instead, typical comments included the following –

“I’m with you on this; damn annoying practice and completely unnecessary, just makes us all mad as hell.”

“To me it’s just a slightly less malicious form of malware (when its not out- right malware).”

“Even free programs that I thought never would stoop to that level have added this practice. I won’t mention their names but some of them are supposed to be an A,B, C”Cleaner” to get rid of junk files, while installing a toolbar that’s a junk file. It’s disheartening.”

“I will absolutely not pay for any software from a vendor who’s tried to con me. They are no better than the other malware smugglers.”

Which brings me to CNET’s download.com – until recently my preferred site to direct readers to, following an application review. But, no longer. Neither readers here, nor I, need to turn on our “scam radar” when downloading/installing, what is ostensible a freeware application.

Especially since, any number of superb download sites like MajorGeeks, FileHippo, PC World – just to name a few – offer the same service without the game playing.

The following is just one example of the “new” CNET download structure. Their little game of – Let’s fuel the insatiable need for greed. 

I should point out; this new structure has raised the ire of more than a few developers who have been outraged by CNETs modification of their install package – without permission.

image

image

As bad as this is – at least in my view – that’s mild compared to the experience I had yesterday while installing the open source application GimpShop, a modified version of the popular open source application – GIMPGNU Image Manipulation Program.

There’s no suggestion here that GimpShop.com attempts, in any way, to mislead potential users. In fact, they’re upfront about their modified installer. Provided, that is, the potential user reads the “fine print”  on the site.

Follow along with the modified install process and then, you decide if this process is over the edge – or, if it fits within your comfort zone.

image

Round one – Yahoo!

image

Round two – mysearch.

image

Round three – Norton.

image

Round four – WeatherBug.

image

Round five – let’s dig a little deeper.

image

I checked out the More Information link which opened a browser window as shown below. Thank you WOT (The WOT Browser add-on shows you which websites you can trust based on millions of users’ experiences –  easy-to-use, fast and completely free.)

image

WOT’s report –

image

Despite all this – I did, in fact, complete the installation so that I could test the applications capabilities in handling the following photo of my Grandfather’s 1919 enlistment in the British Army – which was dug up by my nephew Brian Mullins, in the British National Achieves. The application failed to meet my expectations.

Untouched original photo – possible the most artifact laden photo I’ve ever worked on.

clemence_charles_eble_military123

PhotoShop retouch.

clemence_charles_eble_military12345

This was a pretty round about way to link back to my nephew’s Philadelphia based technology company, I’ll admit. But hey, he’s family.   Smile

26 Comments

Filed under downloads, Opinion, Point of View

26 responses to “Take Your Modified Application Installer And Shove It!

  1. Munch

    What I find particularly reprehensible is when the buttons are labeled such that you feel you are required to install the crapware in order to get the product you actually downloaded. I once had to click “Cancel installation” to continue installing.

    • Hi Muncher,

      Indeed. Both you an I, have had that agonizingly mind-blowing experience – “Cancel installation to continue installing”. Since I know you to be a very high level IT Pro, I won’t hazard a guess as to just how blue the air in the room became at this outrageous insult to your intelligence. On the other hand, I wish I’d been a fly on the wall. 🙂

      Best,

      Bill

  2. kenneth lunkins

    hi bill
    i think it was last year you wrote about check boxs to watch out for
    when you down something. i started to paid attention to that, and notice all kinds of bull—- that you normally wouldn’t even notice. and what’s the deal now on the “decline” button with the accept button right next to each other. all it does is confuse you more. you could be okaying to share your computer and not even know that you are! you got to really read thing
    closer to see what you are actually doing. or they will slip something on you!

    • Hi Ken,

      You’re right – “all it does is confuse you more”.

      I find it hard to understand why confusing the customer would form any part of an organizations strategic direction. But, the facts are there – from toothpaste to cars – consumers are lied to continuously.

      All of us are complicit in this unfortunately. It’s important to hold these people accountable but, we don’t.

      As always, I thank you for commenting.

      Best,

  3. Hi Bill. Were can I find out more about how someone like CNet benefits by packaging toolbars in the installer? Does Yahoo (for example) pay CNet per toolbar installed & how would Yahoo know it was due to the CNet installer?

  4. Mal

    Hey Bill,
    I too am disappointed with CNET of late. I absolutely detest all that additonal crap that is “offered” when installing a new program. Most visitors to your blog would know to be vigilant and read everything carefully when installing. But most casual users just “click away” (just like we discussed the other day) and end up with a machine full of rubbish.
    BTW, I remember when CNET was offering the Babylon toolbar as part of its install pacakge. Interestingly enough, Hitman Pro, a program I rate highly, flagged the CNET installer as malware. Now, I’m not saying that CNET distributes malware. But Hitman Pro certainly did not like the installer. Just saying.
    Cheers

    • Hey Mal,

      Hitman Pro is not alone in classifying the installer as malware. According to CNET they are working with AV developers to assure them this is not malware. Guess it depends on your definition, huh?

      Best,

      Bill

  5. Hey Bill,

    I got disgusted with CNET over this when they first did it and refuse to download from them. As you pointed out, there is plenty of other reputable download sites out there.

    I think the biggest problem is something you touched on. The real problem lies with us. With the exception of the type of people that visit your site who care enough to not put up with this, the normal everyday person, although they may be upset about this for a little awhile, will eventually continue to download from CNET and put up with the extra crapware offers allowing CNET and other companies to actually get away with it.

    Just like with everything else in our world, Most people only stand on principles until they are inconvenienced and then they just go with the flow. Instead of holding these companies feet to the fire for doing things like this, We allow them to get away it. I just hope the other download sites don’t follow suit. Unfortunately it takes more than just a few to keep people accountable.

    CNET should know better!
    Keep speaking out brother

    TeX

    • Hey TeX,

      Yep, CNET will survive the limited outrage. After all, they’re owned outright by CBS who are the epitome of “deep pockets”. You called it right – average users will comply with CNET’s demands.

      Sadly, in the crazy world we live in, it’s often the case that those who stand up for what’s proper and right, get thrown into the Lion’s den. Little wonder then, that standing on principal seems to be out of favor. Personally, I couldn’t give a tinker’s curse – I’ve come to cherish the role of the “big-mouth in the background”.

      With people like you on board, plus the incredibly knowledgeable community that hangs around here, it’s easy being a “pot stirrer”.

      Best,

      Bill

  6. Pingback: All-In-One Protection for iPad, iPhone, Android Tablets, and Android Smartphones. « What's On My PC

  7. Didn’t Cnet, ages ago, used to be called Download.com, or Shareware.com…. or something until they changed their name? I vaguely remember it was okay back then. But I stopped going there a long time ago for the reasons everyone has mentioned.

    File Hippo, Old Apps, Snap Files, and Freeware Files, are my download sites of choice. They’re regularly updated and no dumb installers/spyware junk.

    • Hey Aaron,

      Here’s how it goes (as best as I remember). CBS owns CNET (which was not always the case) – CNET owns download.com (which was always the case).

      I agree with your selection of download sites – some great sites.

      Bill

  8. John Bent

    Hi Bill,

    OK my hand is up; I’ve been complicit in this, largely out of laziness. I’ve used Cnet/Download.com for a while on the basis that they could be trusted not to include malware in their downloads. When they jumped on the toolbar bandwagon I was disappointed, but just deselected the box as it is the work of seconds, believing that nothing nastier was likely to be included. I could just as easily use FileHippo or Secunia and may well do so more in future, as there is certainly something sneaky in this approach.

    What annoys me more is those downloads where there is a choice of “Standard Install (recommended)”, or “Custom Install (advanced)”. The implication is that you need technical knowledge for the “custom” install, whereas the truth is usually that nothing more technical than unticking a box is required. Now that is definitely taking the pi55.

    Kind regards
    John

    • Hi John,

      LOL! Dead on -“Now that is definitely taking the pi55.” 🙂

      Earlier, Mal mentioned that Hitman Pro “flagged the CNET installer as malware” So, out of curiosity, I ran a scan on the temp folder that holds the CNET installer for later use (as if!)- MalwareBytes flagged it immediately, as adware.

      So, it appears that despite CNETs attempts to the contrary – some AV developers are not buying it, and are continuing to show the installer for what it is. Kudos to the good guys!

      Best,

      Bill

  9. David Revie

    I am with you on this . I am not as internet savvy as most of your readers. How do I change down load sites if I am directed to CNET for a download I want?
    DAve

    • Hi David,

      You’re much more savvy than you give yourself credit for. Your question is an indication of just that.

      You won’t find (from this point forward), any download referrals here linked to CNET. There are huge numbers of sites that host downloadable applications so, if you find an app you want/need try one of the sites mentioned in the article. Each of these sites has an excellent reputation.

      Best,

      Bill

  10. delenn13

    I haven’t been using Cnet for a while because of their underhanded methods of installing tool bars/crapware and such. Another Tech newsletter I get brought it to my attention a couple of months ago.

    When I went to visit my 72 yr old aunt a while back I opened up her browser and my mouth dropped open. She had 11 toolbars. I asked if she used them. and she said ..No But they said I needed them. That’s the problem..They imply they are needed and are the best thing since sliced bread. I removed them and tried to explain to her how to avoid them. But there is no blanket one way to avoid them. Uncheck this…custom install this. They take advantage of people who are not knowledgeable, scared of the PC in the first place or in a hurry so not watching.

    • Hey Delenn13,

      Yeah, I’ve been struggling with this one for months. I can tell you, my private mailbox was overflowing with – What are you going to do about this? – soon after CNET fell off the pedestal.

      Your comment explains – as well as it can be explained – the reality behind the free Toolbar muggings. Well said.

      Best,

      Bill

  11. Pingback: My Right To Express An Opinion Under Attack | Bill Mullins' Weblog – Tech Thoughts

  12. delenn13

    Thought you might enjoy reading this:

    Upload.com Software Publisher Newsletter

    “Our goal is to exit beta by end of February and have the necessary systems in place to enable opt-in, influence over advertising offers (for those offers that impact your product), download funnel reporting and revenue share back to you, the developers. In the weeks/months following the full release, we will continue to iterate on the model, adding more features to the Installer and bringing greater efficiency to our own download funnel (read: increased install conversion).”

    I hope they choke on their funnel.

    • Hi Delenn13,

      Strong feelings about this – have ya? 🙂

      increased install conversion – gotta love it. What a bunch of goofballs!

      You were right to think I’d enjoy this – I sure did. Thank you.

      Best,

      Bill

  13. Munch

    Bill, I see that you still have CNET in your blogroll.

  14. Munch

    🙂

    Maybe I need to re-read the article and comments. I got the impression you were done with CNET. I guess disgruntled is not the same as done with.

    • Hi Muncher,

      Your impression is on the money. Since I posted that piece, I have not linked to any downloads on CNET (which was my commitment) – nor will I in future.

      Nevertheless, I do not expect (nor should I), that readers (driveby or regular) should show the same commitment. I’m not comfortable with the idea of restricting access to a site which many still consider a leader in its class.

      Bill