Don’t Have WOT (Web of Trust) Internet Browser Add-on? Then How Do You Know Where You Are on the Internet?

New WOT 3 Would you wander through a risky neighborhood that you were unfamiliar with? One which might possibly be full of predators? Well of course you wouldn’t – at least, not deliberately.

Consider though, if you wander through the Internet without the aid of WOT, a free Internet service from Against Intuition, you may be doing exactly that.

What is WOT?

WOT is a free Internet Browser resource that has established an impressive 4.5/5.0 star user rating on CNET, and has become one of the most downloaded FireFox Add-ons at the Mozilla add-on site, with over 4 million users.

Web of Trust offers Internet users active preventive protection against Web-based attacks, online scams, identify theft, and unreliable shopping sites. The WOT security add-on provides safety ratings to search results when using Google, Yahoo!, Digg and other popular sites, helping users protect their computers and personal information.

New WOT 4

WOT operates in a unique fashion in order to offer this active protection to the Internet user community. It stands out from the crowd of similar applications, by soliciting the opinions of users/members whose views on web site safety are incorporated into the overall site safety rating. According to WOT, the user community now has reputation data on over 20 million sites worldwide.

The shared information on a site’s reputation includes trustworthiness, vendor reliability, privacy, and child safety. As well, in order to achieve maximum security coverage, WOT uses thousands of trusted sources including phishing site listings, to keep users protected against rapidly spreading threats.

How WOT works:

The Browser add-on icon, displays a color rating for each site you visit, indicating whether a site is safe to use, should be used with caution, or avoided entirely. Using traffic light colors, (green, yellow, and red), WOT leaves you in no doubt as to the safety rating of a web site.

An impressive feature of WOT is the dropdown warning curtain, triggered on visiting a dangerous site.

New WOT 2

WOT integrates seamlessly with search engine results from popular search engines including Google, Yahoo, MSN and other popular sites, and provides impressive protection against Internet predators.

New WOT 1

WOT recently added the top three web-based email services – Google Gmail, Windows Live Hotmail and Yahoo! Mail, to its free security protection. You can now feel more confident and secure since WOT checks links embedded in your email, and warns you of dangerous web sites so that you can avoid spyware, spam, phishing, identity theft and other Internet scams; before you click on dangerous embedded links.

Colorblind Accessible Version Available

Recognizing that up to ten percent of Internet users are at a disadvantage however, due to colorblindness, and cannot rely on an Internet safety system based on color coding, the Web of Trust development team recently released an adaptive version of WOT. This version incorporates equivalent alternative information, through assistive or adaptive technology, for colorblind users.

This colorblind accessible application provides the same critical benefits to those individuals who have to contend with visual impairments, as it has to those of us who have come to rely on WOT as a major defense against the pervasive hazards we encounter on the Internet.

Quick facts – WOT checks the following on each web site visited:

Trustworthiness

Vendor reliability

Privacy

Child Safety

Ratings for over 20 million websites

Downloaded 4,000,000 times +

The WOT browser add-on is light and updates automatically

WOT rating icons appear beside search results in Google, Yahoo!, Wikipedia, Gmail, etc.

Settings can be customized to better protect your family

WOT Security Scorecard shows rating details and user comments

Works with Internet Explorer, including IE 8 and FireFox

Interface supports English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish, Finnish, Chinese and Japanese.

WOT now has customizable protection:

WOT provides four convenient one-click protection options that can be changed instantly, depending on the situation.

Fast facts:

Light protection suits experienced Web users

Basic protection guides the user by giving warnings

Maximum Safety stops dangerous Web sites from loading

Parental Control blocks access to Web sites with a poor child safety rating and no rating at all

Surf more securely by installing this browser add-on which will provide you with an in-depth site analysis based on real world results.

Keep in mind however, that you are your own best protection.

Stop · Think · Click

Download at: MyWot

Watch a demo video showing how WOT works in practice.

9 Comments

Filed under Anti-Malware Tools, Browser add-ons, Child Safety Internet, Don't Get Hacked, Firefox Add-ons, Free Security Programs, Freeware, Interconnectivity, Internet Explorer Add-ons, Internet Safety Tools, Safe Surfing, Software, Spyware - Adware Protection, System Security, Windows Tips and Tools, WOT (Web of Trust)

9 responses to “Don’t Have WOT (Web of Trust) Internet Browser Add-on? Then How Do You Know Where You Are on the Internet?

  1. I availed myself of this the last time you recommended it. Love it!

    • Bill Mullins

      Donna,

      I often say – surfing without WOT would be like jumping out of a plane without a parachute. You might be OK but…..

      Thanks for the comment.

      Bill

  2. Hi Bill,
    Excellent write. WOT is great. But sometimes, when you are not having enough reviews by WOT members, than a few badly intended reviews can hurt your site.
    I had myself experienced it with my blog.
    For many days, I had only two reviews on WOT, and unfortunately both of them were carelessly written and gave me red ratings. This raised a flag against my site.
    I had to contact WOT directly and they helped me to remove that flag. Colin from http://freepcsecurity.co.uk helped me a lot in this process.

    • Bill Mullins

      Thank you.

      You’re right – this is a definite shortcoming. I’ve heard a number of complaints along this line.

      The good thing of course is, WOT will respond quickly to an obvious mis-rating, as you found. Yes, I’ve heard from various associates who know Colin, that he is a good person. I’m glad he was able to assist you.

      BTW, I love your site!

      Would you consider posting a guest article here? That would be very cool.

      Bill

  3. whatsonmypc

    Bill’s Readers,

    As a regular visitor and follower of Bill’s blog, I can attest to the value of using WOT (Web of Trust)… Bill pointed myself and the readers of my blog to WOT. I install it on every PC I can get my hands on (family & friends). This is just one of those plain common sense installations that everyone should be doing (by default).

    Rick

    • Bill Mullins

      Thanks for the comment Rick.

      As Rick says, the installation of this application is a “common sense” precaution.

      Take a trip over to Rick’s site Whatsonmypc, you’re sure to find something of interest.

      Bill

  4. Bill,

    I installed WOT the last time you wrote about it, and was impressed enough to install it on all my PC’s, but I noticed something that caused some concern.

    First, I noticed a website (www.christiananswersforthenewage.org) I respect as having a “very poor” rating, but I can’t figure out why it’s rating is poor. I even added my own rating in hopes of improving that, but to no avail. I honestly can’t understand why this site would have a bad rating other than maybe someone’s personal grudge against its content.

    Also, I noticed the other day, some email caught as spam in my Gmail account. The websites linked in the email were “spaces.live.com” sites, but they both had “good ratings”. What, spam sites with good ratings?

    These two experiences led me to think that WOT is too subjective, and maybe not as reliable as one might think.

    What am I doing wrong? Do I just not understand the service, and therefore using it incorrectly? Or are these two rare examples of an otherwise very reliable service?

    If I stopped using WOT over these two examples, is that the equivalent of “throwing the baby out with the bathwater”?

    I would like to use WOT, and trust it, but when I find sites I trust with bad ratings (and I can’t find out why), and spam sites with good ratings, then it leaves me to doubt the reliability of the service.

    • Bill Mullins

      Finding Truth,

      I can understand your frustration, so let me deal with the spam issue first. Which emails get designated as Spam often depends on, for example, the number of live links contained in the email itself. Two or more links in an email can often dump that email into the Spam folder. The Spam filter is simply following its applied rules. In other words, this is not a WOT issue.

      The website that you, as you stated “respect”, is definitely a WOT related issue. I reviewed the site in question, and there is NO justification for the poor rating. In fact, from what I can see, this site should be rated either “Gray”, or “Green”.

      There is no perfect system however, so I encourage you to continue to use WOT. Keep in mind that part of the attraction with WOT is; you and I as users, have input into site ratings and in the circumstances you have described, I encourage you to email WOT setting out your grievance.

      Bill

  5. Will do, Bill.

    Thanks!