Zemana AntiLogger – Free One Year License Today At Glarysoft Giveaway

https://billmullins.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/image27.png?w=92&h=92Back in the day, when I had an interest in sponsoring giveaways, I sponsored a giveaway on behalf of  Zemana AntiLogger. Without a doubt, this was the most professional giveaway I have ever had the pleasure in sponsoring. Zemana set up a special page on their site, specifically designed for the sponsored giveaway which led to 2000+ downloads through that page.

I’ve long considered Zemana AntiLogger a must have security application for my Internet connected machines. In fact, I would never connect my web cam without first ensuring that Zemana AntiLogger was up and running. To drive home that point (and others), I’ve reviewed this application several times.

Today only, a one year license is available at no cost through Glarysoft  (the Glary Utilities folks). Rather than reinvent the wheel, it seems appropriate to rerun the following review which was initially posted January 9, 2010.

Take a read, see what you think – and, if you’re convinced that Zemana AntiLogger would be a worthwhile addition to your overall security structure then, take a run over to Glarysoft and download this super security application.

Note: During my initial testing of this application, I ran a series of Anti-Keylogger tests, including tests for web cam penetration. All test methods were defeated by Zemana AntiLogger.

____________________________________________________

Zemana AntiLogger – An Ounce of Prevention

image Benjamin Franklin could have been talking about the Internet, and malware, when he reportedly said – “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.”

Curing a malware infection caused by today’s sophisticated malware is much more difficult than it has ever been, and I’m convinced, that removing the malware we’re going to have to contend with in 2010, will be incrementally harder still.

Even today, malware tends to write itself into multiple parts of the operating system, and in many cases it can hide its files, registry entries, running process and services, making the infection virtually impossible to find, and remove, without causing operating system damage.

In the coming year, an average computer user who has to deal with even more complex malware infections, will be left with little choice other than having the infected machine worked on by a certified computer technician, who will have the tools, and the competency, to determine if the infection can be removed without causing system damage.

We’ve previously discussed Keylogger malware here, and how to employ an ounce of prevention by using highly regarded SnoopFree Privacy Shield, a free application, which unfortunately, is compatible with Windows XP only.

Because Keyloggers, a particularly sinister type of malware, that monitors every keystroke a user types on a computer’s keyboard, are often executed as part of a rootkit, or a remote administration (RAT) Trojan horse, they can be extremely difficult to detect, and remove.

While it’s true, that many good quality malware and spyware detection tools should capture Keyloggers, and a properly configured Firewall should prevent all authorized connections, the reality is – this is NOT always the case. Keyloggers in fact, can disable Firewalls and anti-malware tools.

Since my personal home machines now run on Windows 7, I can no longer protect against Keyloggers using SnoopFree Privacy Shield, so I had to find an alternative. Unfortunately, I could not find a freeware substitute application. However, I did find a competitively priced application, Zemana AntiLogger, following a reader’s recommendation, which I’ve been testing for a week or so.

I was immediately impressed by this application, particularly the system defense function. The application intercepted proposed changes to system files NOT picked up by other security applications on my system.

Since I use a Webcam extensively for communicating, I was more than happy to see the active Webcam protection offered by Zemana AntiLogger, which was immediately apparent.

Zamana Antilogger 2

Test Screens:

This is an example of a Zemana warning, triggered by my launching an anonymous proxy application which by design, injects code into my primary Browser. By checking an appropriate check box I established a rule, permitting this action in future.

image

This is an example of a Zemana warning, triggered by my updating both Microsoft Security Essentials and Malwarebytes definition databases which, in each case, will make changes to system files. Simply checking a check box establishes a rule, which will permit this action in future.

image

This is an example of a Zemana warning, triggered by a screen capture utility I was in the process of using. If this had been an illegal activity. I would of course, have received the same warning. Again, simply checking a check box establishes a rule, which will permit this action, by this utility, in future.

image

Fast facts:

Secure your Internet banking and financial transactions

Protect information in emails and Instant Messages

Protect keystrokes from spyware

Protect all screen images

Webcam Logger protection

System Defense

No need to download latest virus signatures

No need to know or detect the malware’s signature

No need to wait for updates from a virus lab

No need to scan files

Proactively looks for suspicious activity

Catches not just the usual suspects, but also sophisticated “zero day” malware

Prevents theft of data via secure connections (HTTPS / SSL)

Does not slow down your PC

Easy to download, install and use

Future-proof

System requirements: Windows XP with Service Pack 2 or higher (32bit and 64bit). Vista (32bit and 64bit). Windows 7 (32bit and 64bit). Windows 8 (32bit and 64bit).

If keylogger protection, and maintaining your privacy is a concern, you might consider adding this application to your security toolbox.

Download at: Glarysoft

Please note the following terms and conditions:

No free technical support. No free upgrades to future versions. Strictly non-commercial usage.

17 Comments

Filed under Anti-Malware Tools, downloads, Giveaways

17 responses to “Zemana AntiLogger – Free One Year License Today At Glarysoft Giveaway

  1. John Bent

    Hi Bill,

    Last time you reviewed this it did not support Win7 64bit. Pleased to note that is no longer the case, have downloaded and installed the software with no problems. Many thanks,

    BTW we are currently experiencing “very cold air of Canadian origin” in Scotland. Thanks for that as well :).

    Kind regards
    John

    • Hi John,

      Glad to hear that. Had to do without it myself for a bit – until Win 8 compatibility.

      BTW – we have lots and lots of COLD air that I’d be delighted to send your way. Currently -10 (very sunny though), overnight forecast -18. It’s all about dressing appropriately and, staying the hell inside. :)

      Best,

      Bill

      • John Bent

        Hi Bill,

        It’s obviously warmed up a lot over the Atlantic. Wind chill takes it to -2 here, positively balmy.

        Kind regards,
        John

  2. Larence

    Hi Bill,
    thank you for all your hard work! Visit to your Blog is my daily routine.
    I’ve just installed Zemana AntiLogger on my Windows 8 x64 core i3 laptop without a glitch and it seems running smooth.
    Thanks Bill.
    Larence

    • Hi Larence,

      That’s great – happy to hear that you found it useful. That’s a nice machine BTW.

      Thank you for stopping by here regularly – appreciate that. :)

      Best,

      Bill

  3. Mal

    Hey Bill,
    As per our conversation recently, I still can’t get Zemana to work on my 64 bit machine. Obviously it is an issue at my end. Experience tells me that software that works on most machines, can sometimes sit there doing nothing on just one, and no matter what one does, it just won’t work. I just downloaded this free giveaway and had the same result. Frustration doesn’t come close to how I feel about it lol.
    It’s just one of those things I guess.
    Cheers

    • Hey Mal,

      Sounds like a compatibility issue.

      OK, let’s try to work this out. If you haven’t already give the following a try (but, you probably have). :)

      Uninstall AntiLogger using Revo or Advanced Uninstaller Pro so that all registry entries are deleted. I particularly like Advanced Uninstaller Pro.

      Reboot (this is critical).

      Turn off your AV and Firewall (pull your CAT 5 cable if you feel unsafe).

      Reinstall AntiLogger.

      Reboot.

      Start AV and Firewall.

      If you still have an issue – take a look here. and here.

      Good luck with this.

      Best,

      Bill

  4. Mal

    Thanks Bill,
    I did all that was suggested above and it still aint working. I will email Zemana support, because I just don’t have a clue what is going on.
    Cheers mate
    Mal

  5. Pingback: Super Bowl Blackout Mystery | Poch Peralta

  6. hipockets

    Like you said, Zemana AntiLogger is a great addition to anyone’s arsenal of security products.

    One thing I did not see in your write-up: anything downloaded from the Glarysoft giveaway site has to be installed and registered on the day of the giveaway.

    I found out the hard way – I downloaded several programs for future use, but did not install them.

  7. Fred

    Bill,
    Back in October you said you were going to review a free version of Zemana AntiLogger. Now this review is obviously for a premium version, how is the Free Version?
    http://www.zemana.com/product/antilogger-free/overview/

    While waiting for this review of ZA, I read some of the comments at cnet, and that is the case with just about anyplace other than HERE, there is so much misinformation, well some posters were saying that the ZA had blue-screened their Vista which is what I use, now I thought that odd, but as I said, who knows who these people are…

    So the free version have you looked at that? Would it be, in your judgement, just a bare bones version of the one reviewed here but still functional for the CLIPBOARD loggers which is what prompted the initial discussion.

    Best wishes,
    Fred

    • Hi Fred,

      I did in fact take a look (downloaded and installed) the free version, but found it to be far to limited to have any real value. My apologies for not following up directly with you. Unfortunately, my schedule rarely allows me to post on unsatisfactory apps.

      I wouldn’t rely on the free version to guard against clipboard loggers since it’s designed to encrypt “keystrokes” – not blocks of text copied into memory. In other words, it does not provide system wide security.

      I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this to you (probably someone else now that I think about it) – but, I rarely read forum comments, or user comments on CNET or elsewhere. They’re generally worthless for my purposes. It’s true enough that not all software will run on all machines – there are just too many system variables. And, while it can be an application issue – that is not often the case.

      Best,

      Bill

  8. Pingback: A Reader Wants To Know – What’s On My PC? | Bill Mullins' Weblog – Tech Thoughts