WordPress.com – Tech Thoughts Annual Report

Year end reviews and wrap- ups, bringing us up-to-date on the comings and goings in virtually every area of human endeavor (and then some), seem to pop out of the woodwork every year at this time. Not much of a surprise then, to see WordPress continue to issue an annual Blog summary to all WordPress Bloggers.

Here’s the WordPress summary of what happened on Tech Thoughts this past year. Not entirely accurate but within spitting distance.

image

image

The Blog-Health-o-Meter reads Wow!

Crunchy numbers

About 55,000 tourists visit Liechtenstein every year. This blog was viewed about 1,300,000 times in 2012. If it were Liechtenstein, it would take about 23 years for that many people to see it. Your blog had more visits than a small country in Europe!

In 2012, there were 521 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 3,205 posts.

The busiest day of the year was January 6th with 6,193 views. The most popular post that day was Aldi Bot – Build A Botnet For $15!

Featured image Featured image  Featured image

Attractions in 2012

These are the posts that got the most views in 2012.

Some of your most popular posts were written before 2012. Your writing has staying power! Consider writing about those topics again.

How did they find you?

The top 4 referring sites (sites from which users came to your site) in 2012 were:

  1. answers.microsoft.com
  2. mail.yahoo.com
  3. Google Reader
  4. puppylinux.org

image

Hey WP! What about Australia – the cobbers (Mal, John W., John M., …………. weren’t far behind.   Smile

image

A special “Thank You” to:

Delenn13 (Canada)

John Bent (UK)

Hipockets (USA)

Mal (Australia)

Fred (USA)

If you’re a regular reader here, you have my thanks for making this Blog a fun place to write up my thoughts and opinions.

The truth is – the success of Tech Thoughts is due, almost entirely, to the terrific regular readers here (many of whom have become quite good friends), who forgive my foibles and occasional fractious nature. You are a great bunch of people!

And, to WordPress.com – couldn’t do this without you. Thank you.

12 Comments

Filed under Personal Perspective

12 responses to “WordPress.com – Tech Thoughts Annual Report

  1. Bill,

    As I have mentioned, you have been a mentor to me when it comes to blogging. You are like “Yoda” (LOL)…. All I can say, these stats are on the scaled of “awesome”.

    Rick

    • Hi Rick,

      I’ve long liked your possum pic. So ya, Yoda goes up instead of my regular pic. Thanks for that! lol!

      You’re one of the finest tech bloggers on the Net – YOU made that happen. TP and I, not so much.

      As for “awesome” – not really. One of the many things I’ve learned in the last year or so is – numbers don’t matter at all. It’s the opportunity that blogging provides (at least in my view), to meet and engage with some of the brightest people I’ve ever had the opportunity to chat with. Now, that’s AWESOME. :)

      Best wishes for a terrific, peaceful, and loving 2012.

      Best,

      Bill

  2. delenn13

    After reading Dave Barry’s Year in Review, I think I need a drink and a cigarette.

    WHAP!

    I certainly hope this year is better than last…

    Happy New Year, Everyone!

    250 posts? That’s all? SMH!

    And LLAP, Bill.

    • Hey Delenn13,

      lol!!!! Now, you almost made me drop my Scotch with that one. But yeah, you’re right.

      I was expecting more than 250 BTW – so like, get with it eh!

      It’s been a great year and you played a special role and for that, I’m very grateful.

      Best wishes to you and the family for a hugely successful 2013.

      Best,

      Bill

  3. John

    Hi Bill,
    Another stellar year for you in the terms of stats (very interesting by the way) but I think we the readers are the real winners because of what you present to us on a daily basis come hell or high water.

    My head hurts today! :-(

    Cheers,
    John

    • Hi John,

      When I stepped out of the house early yesterday, I noticed that the wind made a peculiar “moaning” sound, which I found confusing. It wasn’t until I saw your comment that I understood. The whole world was paying the price for a slight exuberance from New Years Eve. :)

      Best,

      Bill

  4. Mal

    Hey Bill,
    I’m not the least bit surprised at how popular your blog is. The articles and resources on here can keep the techie geek and newbies alike busy for hours. It’s a great resource and a lot of fun to belong.
    Cheers
    Mal

  5. John Bent

    Hi Bill,

    The statistics reflect the deserved popularity of your blog. As you know I sometimes get a bit behind with it, but I never miss a single one. There is nothing else on line that gets that much of my attention, which says it all.

    The other measure of the quality of your blog is the superiority of the responses (present company excepted). So often these things can degenerate into slanging matches or troll-speak, but I can recall very few, if any, instances of this; so either you are very good at weeding them out or, as I suspect, your blog just does not attract that type of response.

    Power to your elbow.

    Kind regards
    John

    • Hi John,

      The explanation as to why Tech Thoughts seems to be a troll free zone is relatively simple – I think.

      It’s this – the audience (the desired readership). Various Web rating services for example, rate this site as requiring a college level education in order to get the most from the information provided. I’ll dispute that to some extent – I know some really “dumb” educated people. lol

      Still, targeting an astute/aware audience, has paid off handsomely not only in terms of a reduced effort (no effort in fact) in keeping things moving forward without troll baggage. But, equally as important, it has led to a very good working relationship with a broad range of technology companies.

      In any event, in the five years I’ve been doing this, I’ve disallowed just one comment. An ignorant comment (without merit), directed at a previous comment. As well, I have removed four comments (3/4 years ago), which I had written in response to an a**hole from Texas who had called me a liar. So you see, the only troll around here, seems to be me. :)

      Your loyalty, and more importantly – your genuine friendship – flatters me. I often wonder what kind of world we might now be living in, if we had had the technology to communicate on the basis we now do, 40/50 years ago. I’m convinced that we might well have torn down any number of barriers or perhaps, even prevented some from being erected.

      My apologies for wandering a bit here – but, your comment really got me thinking quite broadly.

      Then again, that’s the beauty of comments. That’s exactly what they are designed to do.

      Best (as always),

      Bill