Happy New Year 2013

Dear readers and subscribers,

As 2012 comes to a close, I’d like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy and Healthy New Year. May 2013 fulfill all its promise, and may all your expectations be met.

image

“Every man should be born again on the first day of January.  Start with a fresh page.  Take up one hole more in the buckle if necessary, or let down one, according to circumstances; but on the first of January let every man gird himself once more, with his face to the front, and take no interest in the things that were, and are past”.

~    Henry Ward Beecher

The year ahead could be the perfect time to ramp up your happiness quotient.

:)

Count your blessings and express gratitude for what you have.

Cultivate optimism.

Practice acts of kindness.

Avoid social comparison.

Nurture relationships.

Commit to your goals.

Learn to forgive.

Take care of your body – get active.

Step off on the right foot with a  little mood music – a particularly good rendition of Abba’s Happy New Year (playable in HD 1080p) on YouTube.

27 Comments

Filed under Living Life, Personal Perspective

27 responses to “Happy New Year 2013

  1. clas

    thanks …a newbee here. been enjoying some posts. keep it up. have a great year.

  2. Happy 2013 To You.!!!
    Thanks for all the great things you shared in 2012.
    I’m already looking forward to what’s to come in the next year.
    http://bob3160.blogspot.com/2012/12/merry-christmas-happy-holidays-happy.html

    • Hi Bob,

      Thank you. It’s very gracious of you to say so. I’ve enjoyed your comments this year and so, I look forward to many more in the coming year. :)

      Best wishes to you, and yours, for a Happy and Healthy 2013.

      Best,

      Bill

  3. John Bent

    Hi Bill,

    How interesting that number one in your list for 2013 is top of my own personal one: “Count your blessings and express gratitude for what you have”. The last item, “Take care of your body – get active” is one that I definitely need to work on; and the diet starts tomorrow (something else I say daily).

    Despite the fact that you clearly have been very busy the last 6 months or so, you have still managed to find time to post your Tech Thoughts each day. I thank you for that; they are a continuing source of knowledge and inspiration which are invaluable in these fast-moving times (just getting to grips with my new Nexus 7).

    The Chinese have to wait until February 4 for the year of the snake to arrive although, interestingly, February 10 is Chinese new year’s day. You may find the following website informative:

    http://www.chinesefortunecalendar.com/2013ChineseHoroscope.htm

    Here’s to 2013, I wish you all you wish yourself, and more.

    Kind regards
    John

    • Hi John,

      Great!!! A Nexus 7! Whoo whooo!!! You’re gonna love the long tether of connectivity you have in your hands. LOVE my Tablet.

      I confess, it’s been a very strange year. For example, my neighbour mentioned to me just yesterday (as I was busting my butt shoveling 23 cm. of snow) that her daughter (who operates a snow removal service), had driven by the house at 4 AM (in the last few days), and noticed my office light was on. While she thought this was unusual, it was in fact SOP. This year, in order to post daily, meant a 4 AM start so that I could fulfill my outside contractual obligations. You know, keeping the guys who finance my hedonistic lifestyle happy. It was all very hectic, but not without an upside. :)

      I’ll be back on the soapbox later this week with the opinion, test/review pieces I enjoy writing. Just like back in the day. The very recent “day”, of course.

      Thanks for the link – I just might make a shift over to the Chinese side of things. :)

      Best wishes to you, and the family, for a relaxing, stress free, and loving 2013.

      Best,

      Bill

  4. NEW YEARS TO YOU AND I HOPE IT WILL BE PROSPEROUS FOR BOTH OF US

  5. Wishing you a very Happy New Year, Bill. :-)

    I’ve not been around much lately; unfortunately my working day starts at 4:00am too now. lol

    I hope all is well with you and yours. Sorry to hear you’re shovelling that damn white stuff. No more of that for me. ;-) Unless the earth shifts on its axis, and we get dumped on over here; not likely. (Can’t say I miss that particular. pastime.)

    I hope the New Year brings you many good things, my friend.

    Best Wishes,

    Paul

    • Hey Paul,

      Life is bloody curious at times. Just thinking about you yesterday and wondering how you were (Christmas and all that), now that you’re back in the land of Merrie Olde.

      Yep, 4 AM comes bright and early as you know (well, maybe not so bright), but I like it. Plays hell with late-night partying though. :)

      So, no more Nfld. and snow up to the roof line for you my friend – you lucky so and so. :)

      Best wishes for a truly wonderful 2013 – may all that you hoped for (on your return) continue to enhance your life.

      Best,

      Bill

  6. Jerry Chance

    Happy New Year to you and all those that you love Bill!!
    Please keep your website up and running – it’s an absolute miracle where you obtain all your information from. Always my first port of call when I boot up!

    Jerry Chance
    Pembrokeshire
    United Kingdom.

    • Hi Gerry,

      Thank you – so good to hear from you. May 2013 bring you an abundance of peace, hope, love and passion.

      Miracles are easily explained – at least this one is. :) A surprisingly large number of companies give me a heads-up as to what’s shaking.

      Best,

      Bill

  7. Mal

    Hey Bill,
    Happy New Year to you and all the readers/contributors here. I’m looking forward to you resuming your reviews on all those apps and programs out there in Cyberspace, I have missed them. Commitment must be your middle name, working your butt off AND keeping this blog going. I, for one, appreciate it.
    Cheers
    Mal

    • Hey Mal,

      Work? Nah! Work is working in a coal mine, lumber-jacking, working on an assembly line, working as a 12 year old in a Bangladesh garment factory, working in a Casualty/Emergency Dept., working like John W. occasionally does in the Outback – away from his family for months at a time. System security has its moments. But work – nope. The only chance I see of real work is if one had the opportunity to punch the snot out of a hacker. I’m up for that. I have a notion that you would be as well. :)

      As of Jan. 2, I’ll be back to posting at least one review/opinion piece daily. There are 60+ companies (to whom I’ve promised a review), who will be happy to hear that.

      It’s been a gas this year chewing the fat back and forth, and I look forward to many more with you Mal. In the meantime, I wish you all the best of what 2013 has to offer – and, I know that if it doesn’t come visiting that you’ll go and hunt it down. :)

      Best,

      Bill

  8. John

    Hi Bill,
    HAPPY NEW YEAR to you and yours!

    While you’re shoveling the white stuff (hard to imagine) we are headed towards 41c, so we will be sitting down on the beach tonight to see in the new year with all the fireworks and new years festivities.

    Hope you have a fantastic New Years (I know you will :-)) and looking forward to seeing what you have in store for us all in 2013.

    Cheers,
    John

    • Hey John,

      Happy new Year!!!!

      Er, it’s about you guys down there kidnapping my summer. I want it back – not later than June 21, if you please.

      It’s been super bouncing ideas back and forth this past year – although not as much (bouncing) as in previous years (must have been your job thingy. :)

      I know that you’re on the road to success and I have a strong feeling that 2013 will hold many excellent surprises for you, your wife. and children.

      Best,

      Bill

  9. Hey Bill

    Firefox is acting up on me again so I am posting this using this thing called Internet Explorer, it was a big thing back in the day I guess.

    Hope you had a good Christmas and I wish you the best for the New Year

    TeX

    • Hey TeX,

      What is it with Firefox these days? I’m having problems with it as well – very slow opening certain bookmarks. Did a little research on “database disk image is malformed: Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles34nd9fe.default\urlclassifier2.sqlite”. A time consuming fix exists – not worth it to me, so I’ll wait for the next release. In the meantime, I’ve been using Chrome more often. I can certainly see why it has such a large fan base. As for IE, I do use it just to keep my hand in – but, I think you summed up its value nicely. :)

      Yep, Christmas was relaxing and stress free – very enjoyable. Thank you for asking.

      Best wishes for a dynamic (good dynamic :) ) 2013 to you and the family.

      Your thoughtful comments this year on many issues added significantly to my enjoyment of the articles – and, I wrote the bloody things. lol! Thanks TeX.

      Best

      Bill

  10. Mark Schneider

    Bill,

    Hope you had a great Christmas and have another successful year in 2013. Your blog has helped me on so many occasions that I can’t possibly remember them all. Thank you for all the work you put in to it for your readers.

    Happy New Year!
    Mark

    • Hi Mark,

      You’re very welcome. Thank you for the many superb articles you have contributed here over the years. Yep, years.

      Wait, there’s more :) – and, the frequent thoughtful commentary you offer which has had considerable impact in helping me make this site a worthwhile place to hangout.

      Happy New Year to you and the family – Karma will be more than kind to you this year I expect. :)

      Best,

      Bill

  11. Happy New Year sir. You will always be my first tech guru.

    • My Dear Pochp,

      You were one of the first 100 visitors here – so, I don’t need to tell you that you hold a special place. We’ve had some great chats over the years and I know that will continue.

      Keep up the great work that you do for your considerable number of Filipino fans. And of course, far away folk like me stuck in a cold drab Canadian Winter. :)

      Best wishes for a hugely successful blogging year filled with peace and harmony.

      Best,

      Bill

  12. Bill,

    Here’s to another year of blogging! Happy New Year…

    Rick

  13. hipockets

    Now that the Holidaze – and the End of the World :>) – have past, May the Spirit of All Things Wise and Wonderful always be with you and your loved ones.

    • Hey Hipockets,

      Whew! I’m happy to see the World is still in one piece – well sort of. :)

      Best wishes for a 2013 that you will look back on with fond remembrance.

      Best,

      Bill