Do You Need a Tablet?

imageTablets have exploded in the marketplace in the same way that smart phones did a few years ago. Just like with smart phones, Apple led the pack and soon dominated the market. However, other manufacturers have caught up, and there are now dozens of models available.

If you haven’t already purchased a tablet, you may be asking yourself whether you need to buy one. Is it a replacement for your laptop? An upgrade on your smart phone? Here are some of the reasons why you might consider buying a tablet:

Affordability

Compared to a laptop, most tablet models are quite affordable. While prices for the iPad still rival those of laptops — with the high-end iPad models costing more than low-end laptop models — there are many other tablets that are available for $200 or even less. Depending on the features you need in your laptop or tablet, you could end up saving hundreds of dollars and still get the functionality you need by choosing a tablet over a laptop.

Portability

While laptops are also portable, tablets offer more ease in portability. You don’t have to bring bulky adapters to recharge a battery, and you don’t have to find a table or other surface to setup comfortably. You don’t even need a carrying case for a tablet.

You can easily carry a tablet in your hand and work with it anywhere — no setup or surface space required.

Adaptability

A tablet combines the features of a laptop and your smart phone. You can download apps to do just about anything you need to do. Depending on the model of tablet, you can take photos, type documents, surf the web, and much more. For more advanced work, there are programs or add-ons you can purchase to expand the capabilities of your tablet.

Entertainment

Tablets are a great source of entertainment. You can use them to connect to the web, or you can download games and other fun apps. You can also use it as an e-reader, or you can watch movies and television shows on it. You can do all of these things anywhere, at any time, right in the palm of your hand.

The question of whether or not you need a tablet is a personal one that only you can definitively answer. However, a tablet offers many benefits that you can consider when making your decision, including affordability, portability, adaptability, and entertainment.

Do you own a tablet? Which model did you choose? Tell us what influenced your decision in the comments!

This guest post is contributed by Heather Green.  Heather is a Christian mom, freelance writer, pet lover and the resident blogger for OnlineNursingDegrees.org, a free informational website offering tips and advice on different types of nurses and online resources.

17 Comments

Filed under Connected Devices, Guest Writers, Interconnectivity, Tablet Computing

17 responses to “Do You Need a Tablet?

  1. Which tablet is the best for hour money? Any advice on that?

    • Hey Angelrae6365,

      Depends on your needs. But – best value for the money? BlackBerry Playbook was my choice – based on my business needs.

      Bill

  2. Pingback: Create A Mouse Cursor Infinity Effect « What's On My PC

  3. delenn13

    Do I need one..No! Do I want one? Yes.

    Am I gonna wait? Yea. Probably waiting for the “Banana Split w/Cherry on Top” flavoured one!

    • Hey Delenn13,

      I run with a BlackBerry Playbook (tres cheap). Just bought a bluetooth physical keyboard (extra $100) – virtual keyboards are useless for real work, I think.

      But, I hear ya – waiting for the “Banana Split w/Cherry on Top” flavoured one, makes sense. In the next 12 months we’ll see some super deals. So hang in there. :)

      Best,

      Bill

  4. Bill,
    Nice article. I use an iPad, but I’m definitely not getting rid of my laptop! I like that the iPad loads faster than a PC so if I want to check something quickly, it’s great. However, when I try to make a calendar entry or compose an email, my big hands and fingers get in the way. I like it, but don’t love it. BTW, I had much the same problem with the Acer mini I had.
    Best,
    Paul

    • Hi Paul,

      I found that I was using my PlayBook for entertainment – not that that’s bad; it was a lot of fun, really.

      I finally added a bluetooth keyboard and that’s made all the difference – it’s now a real tool. Very, very handy on the Subway, etc.

      Best,

      Bill

  5. Pingback: Do You Need a Tablet? | Bill Mullins' Weblog – Tech Thoughts | Top Internet Security

  6. I think I need one. I’m always on-the-go I have my galaxy w that I use in my daily work. I’m need a bigger screen though :)

    • Hey Vhick,

      I hear ya.

      For practical off-site work, a bigger screen is a must have. Luckily, with all the new models coming on the market, we have some real choices.

      Good to hear from you.

      Best,

      Bill

  7. John Bent

    Hi Bill,

    Definitely don’t need one; could probably talk myself into wanting one, but it would likely be a Sony, given it’s compatibility with the Bravia TV. The child in me (the dominant part :)) fancies the idea of being able to “sweep” photos from tablet to TV.

    As you can tell, I’m in no rush, so happy to see what develops.

    Your appraisal makes perfect sense and, as you rightly say, it is down to personal requirements and preferences. Shame you don’t have a magic wand to tell each of us what is best for us. No wait… if you did I’d probably go for something different.

    Kind regards
    John

    • Hi John,

      Funny that. As you know, I also own a Bravia TV. And, I must admit, that I find the PlayBook a super companion when it’s wired into the Bravia (HDMI to HDMI).

      While my TV is not Internet compatible – the PlayBook takes care of all that.

      Best,

      Bill

  8. I’m cheap. iPads are way to expensive for my taste, and I haven’t really wanted a tablet. I’ve considered the Kindle Fire, but was waiting for the next version in the hopes they’d include a fricken mic in the thing. At least then I could use it at work (we produce communication technology).

    Now Google comes out with the Nexus 7 for 199. Same price as the Kindle. Is it a cheap piece of shit? Maybe. But it’s got a microphone! So, I’m probably going to pick one up form gamestop. They’ve got a deal going. I can trade in some old games and lower the price.

    http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-57463619-93/google-nexus-7-tablet-now-selling-through-gamestop/

    Or maybe I won’t get it. I haven’t decided. After all, do I really need this thing? Probably not. But I’m considering it. Maybe I’ll wait for the reviews.

    • Hey Writerdood,

      Looks like we’re genetically coded similarly – el cheapo here. :)

      Such a simple thing to build in a mic – Kindle needs to get at that. I use the Voice Notes app on my PlayBook constantly and dropped my Digi recorder. One less piece of crap to lug around.

      Ya gotta go for the Nexus 7. Hell, $199 is like a few nights out drinking with the boys. On top of which, I think you’ll find the Nexus will turn out to be a gap filler. You might be surprised to find yourself thinking – Wow. I didn’t know I could do that.

      I was on the Bus today – trying to get some work done. Waste of time. I spend more time answering questions as to “what is that – can I look at that….” The average person is blown away by the concept of a Tablet. Ole Steve Jobs knew what he was doing.

      Best,

      Bill

  9. Jim

    I didn’t need one and with an SSD in my laptop it loads almost as fast as a tablet. However, I had that yearning for new technology that had to be itched. I decided I wouldn’t spend more than $200 for something that would not be much more than a secondary entertainment device when I was traveling. I recently picked up the Archos 80 G9 on sale for $125 and I’m finding it’s a great little tab at that price. I now think I will use it more than I expected, as it will probably replace both my iPod Touch, my Nook, and, in a pinch, my laptop for some functions.

    • Hi Jim,

      I hear ya on the SSD. I’m running one on my principal machine – love it.

      Great deal on the Archos – from what I hear, it’s a terrific machine. So yeah, I can see why you’d plan to give it more work.

      Best,

      Bill