Free Expat Shield – Easily Watch BBC iPlayer From Outside The UK.

My very good friend, Michael F., with whom I share similar views on life, technology, and related issues, often forwards articles/announcements/videos etc., that I’ve managed to miss – but, wished I hadn’t. I can easily say that Michael keeps me on my toes – so, thank you Michael.

A few weeks back though, I had no access* to a particular documentary suggested by Michael – Surviving Progress. Since the documentary “explores how we are repeatedly destroyed by ‘progress traps’ – alluring technologies which serve immediate need but rob us of our long term future”, it was a “must see.”

So then, how to overcome the viewing restrictions imposed by the BBC iPlayer* since this super service can only be viewed in the UK?

Here’s an example of what you’ll see, should you visit BBC iPlayer from outside the UK. Bummer!

image

Still, you can’t keep a good man down – and, I’m a good man – sort of.   Smile So, on the hunt I went for a VPN that would provide me with a UK address – which, as it turns out was very simple exercise.

AnchorFree, the developer’s of the ad-supported VPN service Hotspot Shield, which I’ve reported on a number of times, offers a free additional VPN – Expat Shield (ad-supported) – specifically designed to provide users with a UK IP address.

Following an easy straightforward install, Expat Shield was quick to launch and showed little or no degradation in connection speed – more on this in a moment.

Once the application is up and running, you’ll find a new icon in the Windows System Tray. Clicking on the icon provides access to a selection of input commands, as shown in the following screen captures.

image

image

Having viewed the Surviving Progress documentary earlier, for this review, I watched the full length feature film, The Four Feathers –

“England, 1884. When British officer Harry Faversham resigns right before his regiment is sent to fight in Sudan, three friends and his fiancee each award him with a white feather to symbolize his cowardice. Disowned by his father, renounced by his fiancee and disgraced in society, Harry is determined to prove his bravery. Thrilling adventure based on the classic novel.”

image

What an enjoyable experience! The film streamed perfectly – no stuttering or slowdown of any description.

Since the BBC is by far and away my favorite TV network, I’ve made good use of Expat Shield. If you’re a British expat and you miss the BBC, then consider adding Expat Shield to your system. I think you’ll be very pleased with this free solution.

Fast facts:

Get a UK IP address.
Secure your web session, data, online shopping, and personal information online with HTTPS encryption.
Protect yourself from identity theft online.
Hide your IP address for your privacy online.
Access all content privately without censorship; bypass firewalls.
Protect yourself from snoopers at Wi-Fi hotspots, hotels, airports, corporate offices.

System requirements: Windows XP, Vista and Win 7.

Download at: ExpatShield

6 Comments

Filed under downloads, Freeware, Online Privacy, Software

6 responses to “Free Expat Shield – Easily Watch BBC iPlayer From Outside The UK.

  1. Michael Cole

    Hi Bill:
    I run HotSpot Shield, think it is the best of the free VPN,s. Since they only use US IP,s thought I would like to add ExpatShield for the UK IP,s. Tried to install but if I want Expat need to uninstall HotSpot. Guess AnchorFree won’t allow both services to be installed.
    Have you run into this problem? Any ideas? Thanks!!

    Regards
    Michael

    • Hi Michael,

      What a poor marketing decision on their part. Boo!!

      I switched to a new VPN (U.S. IP) sometime ago – principally, because I got fed up with HotSpot Shield’s ads. I’m ungrateful I know, but……. :)

      Take a look at a review I posted on Spotflux. Here’s a little taste – “Spotflux, a relatively new anonymous client application, comes with a bit of a twist. Not only can you surf the web more securely with data encryption (effectively hiding your IP address), but the developer advises that Spotflux continuously scans and protects your connection against inbound malware threats.” Best of all Michael – no ads.

      I recommend that you also read the comments – particularly the last one which, I think you’ll find interesting.

      Good to hear from you.

      Best,

      Bill

  2. Do you know of a similar solution for Mac?

    Also… THE top dog security/tech blogger giving me praise means a lot! Thank you Bill.

    • Hi Michael,

      Don’t know of a Mac app – but, I’ll certainly keep an eye out.

      Lucky for me that our interests coincide – otherwise, I’d be the poorer for it. :)

      Best,

      Bill

  3. Marlon

    Sometimes paying a few bucks also relieves the hassle of the having to watch and deal with their ads. There’s this vpn provider called hidemynet.com, they offer not only UK ip address but also gives you access to USA, SG, Germany etc… for just $5 a month, no advertisement and really easy to use.