Windows 8 Consumer Preview – Download Now Available

If you’re the adventurous type and can’t wait to get your hands on Microsoft’s latest OS offering – you’re in luck. Windows 8, Consumer Preview, has just been released for download.

Note: From Microsoft.

Windows 8 Consumer Preview is prerelease software that may be substantially modified before it’s commercially released. Microsoft makes no warranties, express or implied, with respect to the information provided here. Some product features and functionality may require additional hardware or software. If you decide to go back to your previous operating system, you’ll need to reinstall it from the recovery or installation media that came with your PC.

System Requirements:

Windows 8 Consumer Preview works great on the same hardware that powers Windows 7:

  • Processor: 1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster
  • RAM: 1 gigabyte (GB) (32-bit) or 2 GB (64-bit)
  • Hard disk space: 16 GB (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)
  • Graphics card: Microsoft DirectX 9 graphics device or higher

You can download Win 8 Preview in one of two flavors:

ISO imagehere (I strongly suggest that you take this route). Be sure to take note of the Product Key: DNJXJ-7XBW8-2378T-X22TX-BKG7J

Direct install over the Internethere

15 Comments

Filed under downloads, Microsoft, Windows 8

15 responses to “Windows 8 Consumer Preview – Download Now Available

  1. Hi Bill,
    I’m using this on an old Core2 duo Dell Latitude with the ILV 1,3 GHZ. It’s very snappy on this old hardware, and it took me all of 2 minutes to get use to using the Microsoft key instead of a start button. I haven’t gone through all the Metro Apps yet but the interface is a lot easier to master than I thought.
    I’m most impressed with the performance though, otherwise it’s Windows 7 with Metro. Not a huge deal…so far.
    Mark

    • Hi Mark,

      Just finished installing and beginning to populate with my usual programs. Took less than 15 minutes to install – which is a big WOW! Took longer to erase and burn a disc, than it did to install.

      Agree on the Start button – no big deal. Looking forward to a real workout with this.

      Good to get your comment.

      Best,

      Bill

  2. John

    Hi Bill,
    I’m going to take Win 8 for a spin and although it’s probably too soon for you to say yet as you’ve had as much time with it as the rest of us but I will ask the question anyway, what security set-up do you advise?

    Cheers,
    John

    • Hi John,

      I’ve been running with the developer edition since Sept/11 and I’ve just now finished a complete install of the consumer edition (including all my preferred application) About 3 hours in total to get it all done.

      I’ve installed, as startups, Microsoft Security essentials, PC Tools Firewall, Threatfire, and WinPatrol. Unfortunately Zemana is not yet compatible with this edition of Windows. You should know though, that this new edition is substantially improved under the hood in terms of security.

      Hope this helps.

      Best,

      Bill

  3. John Bent

    Hi Bill,

    You mention PC Tools firewall, which I know you’ve been using for a while. I thought I’d give it a whirl but found it was not available as a stand-alone from the PC Tools website. They offer an all-in-one security suite but the free firewall is not mentioned.

    I did a bit more research and found numerous comments about the free firewall having been discontinued. I got a copy of PC Tools Firewall Plus from Download.com (any port in a storm!) as per your January link. I just wonder whether it is still supported. I ran “Smart Update” and it said no updates were found, which doesn’t prove anything. Can you throw any light on this please?

    Kind regards
    John

    • Hi John,

      You’re right. As far as I can tell, the Firewall is no longer “advertised” as a freebie. However, and this is just one example – downloading through downloadcrew.com triggers the download directly from a PC Tools server. So, “discontinued” doesn’t seem to fit.

      This reminds me of the “disappearence” of Threatfire – another PC Tools freebie. For a considerable time it was nowhere to be found on a PC Tools server, which led to all sorts of rumours that it had been discontinued. After several months, it was back on the PC Tools server – strange, but….

      Best,

      Bill

  4. Pingback: Information To Help At The Onset of an Illness or Medical Emergency « What's On My PC

  5. Hi Mr Mullins
    Where’s the start button? Just kidding . I have been using 8 your a few months now. I still feel like I am on a cell phone with the new look. I forget when I first loaded it, but there has been one update that I have found on the developer edition. All I can say is that I have used all the MS products down through history and all needed some getting use to at the first. I am still ringing this one out , not really formed and opinion as yet.
    I hope its not all fluff and lots of stuff, because I like stuff.

    • Hey I Run,

      I’m with you – Win 8 continues to look like a cell phone GUI. Still, it’s worth running with it for a while. Good to see you’re doing this as well.

      Bill

  6. Hey Bill,

    Haven’t had a lot of time lately to much of anything, but I hope to make time soon to test windows 8 out. Life keeps getting in the way :)