Download Free Norton Identity Safe Beta – Simple, Secure, Password Management For Windows, iOS, And Android

imageFair or not, I look upon weak password control – which leads to a catastrophe – as a self-inflicted injury. According to Norton research – 45 % of us re-use the same, easy to remember password, across multiple sites. Which, virtually assures, that should a hacker gain access to such a password – the door is now open for illegal access to all accounts. A catastrophe waiting in the wings.

I understand the dilemma. Complicated, in other words, safe passwords are often hard to remember, whereas easy passwords, in other words, unsafe passwords, are generally easy to remember. And, a single password is surely easier to remember than a series of passwords, simple or not.

What a troublesome problem!

Good news:

Today, Norton will release Norton Identity Safe Beta – the free public beta of a service which will allow you to secure and synchronize logins, passwords, credit cards, and other web form information across PCs, iOS and Android devices – using the cloud.

As an added bonus, Norton Safe Search is included.  Safe Search bumps up a user’s confidence level since a user can easily see (from search results), if a website is safe before visiting the site.

Norton Identity Safe setup walkthrough.

Consider very carefully as to whether “Remember Password” is appropriate in your situation.

image

Pay close attention to the password requirements.

image

Almost finished.

image

On completion, a web page will open with the following. From what I can see in this early test – since the application seems to rely on the Toolbar for access – you must accept. In Firefox, for example the Toolbar can be controlled through Tools – Add-ons.

image

Not quite finished. It’s time to check your inbox – confirm your email address. Click on the link………

image

and – finished!

image

Norton Identity Safe Home:

image

Norton Identity Safe Fast facts:

Simplified password management – Eliminates the hassle of remembering multiple logins and passwords, as users only need to remember one master password for quick, secure access to their favorite sites.

Streamlined user experience – Shows users their logins with thumbnail images, allowing them to log in to a desired site by clicking on the image, or for mobile and tablet users, by simply touching the screen.

Share Via – Allows users to safely share online content by sending URLs through email and social networking plugins, directly from Norton Identity Safe beta.

Automatic login synchronization across devices – Enables users to store a password on one device, and easily log in from another device – wherever they go.

Supported browsers:

image

Download at: Norton Identity Safe

Note: Norton Identity Safe Mobile Edition beta application, must be installed on mobile devices to access Norton Identity Safe.  The mobile applications complement the PC client, which must be downloaded and installed prior to installing the mobile applications.

Note:  If you have Norton Internet Security or Norton 360, you already have Norton Identity Safe installed.

Norton let me know of the pending release of Identity Safe Beta, yesterday. So, you’ll understand, this is not a review – but rather, a heads-up.

If you choose to download Identity Safe, I would be most interested in your personal observations as to functionality and value.

Helpful hints – here are some guidelines on choosing a strong password:

Make sure your password contains a minimum of 8 characters.

Use upper and lower case, punctuation marks and numbers.

Use a pass phrase (a sentence), if possible. For example, I use an 18 alpha character pass phrase (upper and lower case), supplemented with 4 numeric characters on this site. And, only on this site.

Since brute force dictionary attacks are common, do not use single word passwords that are words in a dictionary.

Use a different password for each sign-in site.

If you have difficulty in devising a strong password/s, take a look at Random.org’s – Random Password Generator – a very cool free password tool.

15 Comments

Filed under Android, Anti-Malware Tools, Beta Software, Cloud Computing Applications, Connected Devices, Don't Get Hacked, downloads, Freeware, Norton

15 responses to “Download Free Norton Identity Safe Beta – Simple, Secure, Password Management For Windows, iOS, And Android

  1. Darryl

    Nice write-up, but I’ll stick with Last-Pass. The premium version lets me synch any mobile device over the cloud. (the free version synchs computers only). It’s a great product and has a proven track record for reliability and safety.

    • Hey Darryl,

      Yes, I suspect the higher up the “tech ladder” one is – the less likely it is that this service will be of value.

      Good to hear from you.

      Best,

      Bill

  2. Pingback: Something New at Bookmarks4Techs.com « What's On My PC

  3. Bill,

    Thanks for the “heads-up” on this. I will surely monitor its’ development since it is a work in progress. We will be seeing more of these types of password management options due to the introduction of the smartphones and tablets.

    Rick

  4. Mal

    Hey Bill,
    This looks good. Personally, ( I think we have discussed this before) I have gone back to recording my passwords in a notebook, which is kept in a secure place. If any nasty malware gets on to my machine looking for said passwords, I am safe. Paranoid, yes. Safe, yes!!
    Cheers

    • Hey Mal,

      You know my personal views on this – I wouldn’t save passwords in any form on a PC.

      You and I are hardly alone in holding this view – Bruce Schneier has long pointed out the danger in doing so.

      Best,

      Bill

  5. Jon Moller

    Bill,

    I love the convenience of Identity Safe, but have never been completely
    comfortable with putting all this informaiton on my machine.

    I’d like to compare notes with the concerns Bruce Schneier has raised about out storing passwords on a PC. Do you have a link I could reference?

    Also, what are your thoughts on saving passwords in the cloud vs. on a PC? Syncing passwords across devices sounds great, but I think I’m even less comfortable with putting this data in the cloud. But maybe I’ve got it backwards. I’d love to hear your thoughts and others.

    Thanks!

    Jon

    • Hi Jon,

      There are no circumstance that I can envision, in which I would feel comfortable recording any of my passwords on a machine – in the cloud, or locally. My trust level simply does not extend that far. With respect to the cloud, more particularly – the incidence of password exposure due to breech – while occasionally reported, continues to be under-reported. Even on those occasions when breeches are reported – it seems that in many cases, it takes a concerted effort by tech journalist to uncover the circumstances (the truth). Full disclosure seems to fly below the radar.

      Some time back I wrote a piece – Should You Forget About Password Safes and Write Down Your Passwords? – which, sets out in some detail my personal views on password control. Shortly after that I came across a short piece by Bruce Schneier in which he made this point – “I recommend that people write their passwords down …….

      More recently, I stumbled on an update to Bruce’s point – but, the where of it escapes for the moment.

      Not to give away any of my little “secrets” but, I’ve long made it a habit of using words, phrases, numbers and symbols which are easily readable on permanent objects in my office. One example could be a calendar. Not saying for sure – but it could. :)

      Bill

  6. John Bent

    Hi Bill,

    Like Darryl, I’ll be sticking with what works for me; in my case it’s RoboForm. Using the premium version I can sync between USB flash, the cloud, my Android phone and my computer. Yes there are risks inherent in this but, unlike Megaupload, Siber Systems is dedicated to security and so unlikely to suffer the same fate. Some risks I am prepared to take for the sake of convenience and this is one of them (my choice, others must weigh it up for themselves).

    BTW the advantage of (maybe) using the calendar is that the passwords will change every month. What a great idea!

    Kind regards
    John

    • Hi John,

      I hear ya loud and clear – comfort, needs to be considered. So, I’m with you on your choice.

      Yes, I think a Calendar could work quite well. :)

      Best.

      Bill

    • Darryl Gittins

      I’m inclined to think there’s an elevated risk of using a password manager, and more so if you store passwords to the cloud, but the alternative is worse: using bad passwords because it’s too hard to do otherwise. And while I agree with Bruce Schneider about just about anything, I’m not sure I like the idea of relying on a simple piece of paper for anything important. I have over 400 websites registered in LastPass. It’s really not practical to write all those down, and then maintain the list. And what happens when you lose that paper? You’re hosed, right? Password managers add more levels of security than they sacrifice, and I’d go so far as to say they are as essential as a router and a virus scanner with regard to internet safety. As with anything, common sense prevails. If you’re nervous about storing passwords to the cloud, then just use a password manager for less important sites and rely on memory and a strong password for the important ones like your bank.

      • Hey Darryl,

        I think your comment – “As with anything, common sense prevails.” Personally, my common sense dictates, that under no circumstance will I allow any of my passwords to be stored on a machine.

        But, as with anything – people will choose their own degree of risk. I surely can’t find fault with that.

        As for Bruce’s comment – I will admit to ROTFL – a piece of paper, in your wallet no less. No, I think there are more cretive ways than that.

        It’s a tough question, for sure. But, you have certainly answered the question as to what works best for you.

        Great comment – as always. :)

        Best,

        Bill

  7. Personally, I can’t really trust any of Norton’s products anymore. Their anti-virus software has essentially turned into higher-polished scare-ware aimed at getting people who don’t know any better to pay a lot of money for a service that can be found for free elsewhere.

    That’s not to say all of Norton’s programs are like this; I just find it hard to get past their practices enough to try their other software.

    • Hey Taylor,

      A point of view I hear expressed quite often. So, you’re right – that perception is out there.

      It needs to be addressed by Norton, and others who seem to follow the same tactics.

      Bill