BitDefender Security Scan – TWO Thumbs Down!

imageDon’t get me wrong – I like BitDefender – as you’ll see in an article I’ll post later today.  BitDefender has been in the AV marketplace since 2001 and, according to company literature, now has a base of “400 million home and corporate users across the globe.”

In addition to its award winning line of both home and enterprise grade security applications, BitDefender is well known in the security community as a provider of a host of free applications designed to address both general, and specific,  malware infections. Overall, it’s been my experience that these freebie offerings generally make the grade.

You can imagine my surprise then, when I recently took BitDefender’s freebie Security Scan – described by the company as “a free tool which provides information on the speed, stability and security issues which may affect a Windows machine” – only to have this application drop a load of nonsense on my head.

At first glance, BitDefender Security Scan looked promising – as you can see from the first two screen captures.

image

image

But, where the rubber meets the road – accuracy and reliability – it proved to be a dismal failure.  Microsoft Security Essentials “not functioning?” PC Tools Firewall Plus “disabled?”

What?

image

Once past the heart palpitation stage, it was on to the System Configuration utility so that I could double-check Startup config. As you can see in the following screen capture, both applications are scheduled to launch on boot.

image

Still, best to have a look at boot services – no problem there.

image

Nevertheless, neither of these checks are necessarily conclusive. So, lets take a look at what Windows Task Manager reports. You’ll notice, in the following graphic – processes for both applications are locked, loaded, and running.

image

Still not enough – so, it became necessary to run a scan with Microsoft Security Essentials, while at the same time cross referencing Windows Task Manager to ensure this application was eating up both CPU cycles, and system memory – as shown in the previous screen shot.

image

As expected, MSE reported a “clean machine.” Since Sunday (the day I tested this app), is the day I set aside to scrub and clean this test machine – using a variety of applications – including Linux driven boot AVs. Given that I had completed my normal Sunday sweep prior to the test, I had little doubt that this machine was malware free. A malware infection of course, being a primary cause of security application shutdown.

As I said earlier, BitDefender’s freebie offerings generally make the grade. This application however, is not one of them. Avoid this application.

9 Comments

Filed under Anti-Malware Tools, BitDefender, Freeware

9 responses to “BitDefender Security Scan – TWO Thumbs Down!

  1. John

    Hi Bill,
    Interesting what you say about BitDefender as I’m having similar issues with BitDefender also but with their internet security suite (BIS2012).

    I have pretty well tried most of the big name performers when it comes to my AV and firewall requirements all except for BitDefender that is, and had never been able to lay my hands on a BitDefender suite without having to pay for it .

    Going back a couple of months ago I finally did get that 12 month licence and have had nothing but issues with it ever since. It does not like having anything else with it on my pc like Zemana or Mamutu and is constantly giving me error messages that there are critical issues to fix but when you hit the fix issues button you get another message saying that it failed to fix the said issues, what a load of shite.

    I have also had a ticket in with BitDefender since my first installation and that is probably at least ten uninstalls and reinstalls since but still I have the same problem and it seems now as though BitDefender have wiped their hands of me as I get no response from them anymore.

    Needless to say I won’t be in any rush to renew my licence at the end of 12 months, and to be honest had expected a lot more from this big name in the internet security business.

    Cheers,
    John

    • Hi John,

      That is the definitive “bad experience” story. What a bummer!

      I’ve tested a bag full of BitDefender’s freebies, and found all but this one – very good.

      I also tested the 2011 edition of their security suite, and found it did a great job. But, I did find that running on the minimum Hardware requirements was a non-starter, which led to a number of issues.

      I wonder if you’ve tried OPSWAT’s AppRemover and then a clean reinstall. Doing so, will ensures all previous Registry entries are gonzo. These entries, normally left behind, can easily screw-up a new install.

      As for the frustration with non-responsiveness from the developer – it’s a story I hear repeated over and over – no matter the company. Hell of a way to run a business!

      Wish I could offer more.

      Best,

      Bill

      • John

        Bill,
        Thanks for that link I will give it a try. In part defence of BitDefender they did give me there uninstall tool and their support tool to run a report but alas nothing was ever resolved.

        I truly believe that it’s either Zemana or Mamutu or both that are not playing with BIS but I’m very loathe to have to uninstall either of them because they do such a good job. :-(

        Cheers,
        John

        • Hi John,

          I think you’ll find Mal’s comment (another OZ bloke), supportive of your observation. And, I haven’t yet posted Mal’s comment (just getting to it). So, you’re not alone.

          For sure – don’t get rid of Zemana (danger, danger, danger!). :)

          Best,

          Bill

  2. Mal

    Hey Bill/John,
    Actually, my experience is the same with most security suites. I haven’t tested BD but have tried others, that don’t like to play nice with Threatfire, Zemana/Spyshelter, etc. That’s why I don’t use security suites, they want to “take over” all task.
    Cheers

    • Hey Mal,

      Yep – haven’t met too many high level guys who run with a package. For exactly, the reasons you outlined.

      As always, an on-point techie comment.

      Best,

      Bill

    • John

      Hi Mal,
      Yes I reckon I have to agree with you on that. But having said that I had been using Online Armor Premium for absolute yonks and never had any issues at all with any of my other armory and it all played nicely together.

      It just seems that BIS is not up for it and ultimately I will have to something about it.

      Are you reading this BitDefender?

      Mal just on a side comment, I do always enjoy reading your thoughts about topics of the day, keep them coming.

      Cheers,
      John

  3. Mal

    Thanks John, this blog is my first stop in the morning. I’m addicted lol.
    Cheers

  4. Pingback: Stupid Things Done Online « Plato on-line