Merry Christmas – Joyeux Noel

Dear readers and subscribers,

christmas-message

Despite the push and shove of various societal elements, Christmas (no “happy holidays”, or “seasons greetings” allowed in this house) – the traditional  season of giving and sharing – remains wonderfully inescapable. Its traditions and rituals, established in simpler times, continue to remind us – those we hold close, are the greatest gifts of all.

May the spirit of Christmas bring you peace,
The happiness of Christmas give you hope,
The warmth of Christmas grant you love.

Have a wonderful Christmas, however you define it.

Bill

A little mood music – maybe?

“Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” by Michael Bublé.

Tech Thoughts is winding down for the Christmas break – so, you might find us fairly quiet the next several weeks. Regular posting will begin again on Monday, January 3, 2012.

48 Comments

Filed under Point of View

48 responses to “Merry Christmas – Joyeux Noel

  1. kenneth lunkins

    i hope you have a wonderful holiday bill
    ken lunkins
    cleveland, oh

    • Hey Ken,

      Thank you my friend. May Santa, and all the little people he hangs out with, bring you, and your family, all that you could wish for.

      It was great to have your active participation this year – looking forward to lots more in the coming year.

      Best,

      Bill

  2. Merry Christmas Bill !!!

  3. Jerry and Mary Chance

    May you and your family enjoy the true celebration of Christmas and also we wish you a peaceful and fulfilling New Year.

    Love, Light and Peace

    Jerry and Mary

    PS. Thank you once again for your brilliant ‘Tech Thoughts Daily Net News’

    • Hi Jerry and Mary,

      Thank you both – you’re very thoughtful. Best wishes for a joyful and relaxing Christmas.

      A special “thank you” to you Jerry, for your participation throughout the year. Your comments and suggestions have been most helpful.

      Best,

      Bill

  4. Bob Slyker

    THE MAGIC OF CHRISTMAS

    CHILDREN LOOK FORWARD WITH EAGER ANTICIPATION
    ADULTS REFLECT ON CHERISHED MEMORIES
    IT IS A SEASON OF HOPE, ANTICIPATION AND JOY
    A TIME FOR CONTEMPLATING THE BLESSINGS OF OUR LIVES

    A MERRY CHRISTMAS GREETING FROM;
    BOB AND KATHLEEN SLYKER

    • Hi Bob and Kathleen,

      Yes, “a time for contemplating the blessings of our lives”, indeed.

      Merry Christmas to you Bob, and to you Kathleen – may all the joy and happiness of this magical season fill your days.

      Best,

      Bill

      P.S. Looking forward to more of your great suggestions and comments in the new year, Bob. :)

  5. Merry Christmas Bill

    Thank you for the free techy education, your thoughtful opinion pieces [more!] & the laughs

    • Merry Christmas Michael.

      You’ve made the whole “connected” thingy a lot more fun this year. And, your suggestions/submissions, for which I’m very grateful, have taken away some of the early morning pain. Don’t slack off in this department. :)

      Feliz Navidad to you, and yours, at this wonderful time of the year.

      Best,

      Bill

  6. David f

    A merry Christmas to you Bill and a happy tech thoughts new year.
    Thank you for your informative articles, through this last year.
    Enjoy your holiday.
    David.

    • Hi David,

      It’s been great having you drop by regularly this year – thank you.

      Christmas is a magic time of the year and I’m sure, some of that magic is heading your way. :)

      Merry Christmas.

      Best,

      Bill

  7. g

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    • Hey G,

      I have to say it! What a great smile!!

      It’s been 4 years my man – which makes you, the original “original” – Numero Uno!! I remember thinking, back then – if I can grab the attention of Glenn, in the Pacific North West, then, there may be something to this bloggging thing, after all. Thanks for sticking around G. :)

      Wishing you, your wife, and the girls, all the joy that Christmas has planned for you.

      Best,

      Bill

  8. delenn13

    Merry Christmas! Thanks for the tips and info. Really enjoy it.
    Some Videos from Canada:

    Sean Quigley – Little Drummer Boy – YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IrNcD34KFhM

    “People have been asking… so, yes, I played all the parts, sang, arranged and recorded the whole thing. I had my sister run the camera for specific shots, then I edited the video and posted it here! – Glad everyone is enjoying it so much!” From Manitoba, Canada.

    Singing Tweets – Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra – YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ZNkj9LQINI0

    “To help warm up the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra Chorus this season, we asked Calgarians to tweet their tips on how to keep warm in Calgary’s winter wonderland.”

    • Hey Delenn13,

      Beauty, eh! Thanks for the Canadian content – that’s way cool!

      For those who watch “Little Drummer Boy” (it’s worth the watch), and who wonder if it’s really true that Canadians throw on shorts in Winter? Oh yeah – if the January temp should hit 5 C or more, the “Hardy Canucks”, seem to filter in from the periphery. Note: I must admit, that I refer to theses people as, other than “Hardy Canucks.” I can’t say what, since I’m trying to stay mature here – which is tougher than you might imagine with a few Molson’s under your belt. :) But hey, it’s Christmas!!!

      So, please accept my best wishes for a wonderful Christmas – may you, and your family, experience all the joy which Christmas can bring.

      Best,

      Bill

    • Hey Paul,

      My man from “The Rock.” And, my favorite EBook author!

      Hope the move went OK, and that you’re now (sort of settled?) in your new place. Having just finished moving home and hearth, I can commiserate – moving SUCKS – big time!

      All that aside (yeah, like you’re back still doesn’t hurt), Merry Christmas – from one Linux user to another. :)

      Best,

      Bill

      • All settled in Bill, thanks. Managed to do it in between snowstorms lol. Don’t think I’ll be carrying anything for a while though. ;-) I hope you’re settled in too, my friend.

        Thank you for all the excellent tech’ advice you’ve given many of us throughout the past year and beyond; all of it freely and generously. There are many who could learn a thing or two from your polite and friendly approach to helping others who know only a little about computers.

        Thank you,

        Paul :-)

        • Hi Paul,

          A snowstorm? Ah well, what else? Newfoundland in the bloody winter. lol

          Ended up buying a whack of new furniture after the move. Funny how old stuff looks somehow “older” in new digs. Else, I’ve been successfully recruited by the consumptive society – its lifestyle advertising lingo finally breaking down my defenses, maybe. :)

          Thank you for your kind words – they’re much appreciated. And, in return let me tell you – I’ve had a lot of fun the last few years sorting out our puzzlers. It was fun wasn’t it? lol

          Best,

          Bill

  9. delenn13

    Another thing…I want to wish your spam filter a Happy New Year.

  10. TRY

    A very Merry Xmas to you and your family, Sir!!! :D
    Happy and Joyful Holidays.

    Best Regards

    • Hey TRY,

      Thank you. Love your questions BTW – the type of questions that add real value for readers.

      Many happy returns of the season to you, and to your family. Enjoy, my friend.

      Best,

      Bill

  11. Mal

    Merry Christmas Bill, have a great one. Another great year on the blog.
    Cheers
    Mal

    • Hey Mal,

      No doubt about it – wouldn’t have been that way without you, and your always “dead on the money”, comments and suggestions. You keep me on my toes! It seems – you’ve been elected! lol

      Since it’s already Christmas Day in the great “Down Under”, let me add to the multitudes of “Happy Christmas’s” you’ve already gotten – Merry Christmas, my friend.

      Best,

      Bill

  12. hipockets

    No matter what the season —

    May the Spirit of All things Wise and Wonderful always surround and protect you and your loved ones!

    • Hey Hipockets,

      Yes, I agree. Spiritually, should hardly be limited by season. Seems so simple.

      I often wonder why we tend to make things so complicated. Gotta get that Monkey wrench into the equation somehow, I guess.

      Best to you, and your family, at this reflective season.

      Bill

  13. John

    Merry Xmas Bill,
    You’re my first read every morning when I log on Bill, and I would not have it any other way, may the blogs keep coming and also thanks for your help during the year. Bloody hell it’s hot here at the moment :-).

    Cheers,
    John

    • Hey John,

      Hotter than hell, huh? Well, just so you know – you’re talking to a guy who’s FREEZING his bollocks off as he types this. Oh to be in Oz at the moment – you lucky bugger. :)

      Yeah, we had some good fun, you and I, last year – we’ll go for it again, this coming year.

      Now that you’re out of the drudgery of pounding on those books, I’m thinking – this Christmas could be kinda special. May it be so – Merry Christmas John.

      Best,

      Bill

  14. leofelix

    Buon Natale ( Merry Christmas in italian) :)

    leofelix from Italy

    • Buona Sera Leofeliax,

      And, Buon Natale in return. :)

      Toronto (where I live), was built by Italian immigrants, who’s children are now lawyers, doctors, dentists, entreprenuers, bank managers (lots of my friends – lol), so, I’m pretty familiar with “Buona Sera”, and “Buon Natale.” As well as the famous – “mange cake”, of course. lol!

      Good to hear from you. And, thank you for the kind words you’ve written about me elsewhere on the Internet. I’ve noticed.

      Best,

      Bill

  15. Hey Bill,

    Have a very Merry Christmas. Amen to the no “Happy Holidays” and Good choice on the Michael Buble, one of my favorites.

    God Bless

    TeX

    • Hey TeX,

      Well, I seemed to have hit the nail on the head in a couple of things. lol

      Thank you for your blessing and, Merry Christmas to you and your family.

      Best,

      Bill

  16. Enjoy your Christmas Bill.

    • Thanks Pochp.

      If you celebrate Christmas – then, have a Merry. If not, then take the day off and just chill.

      You guys in the Philippines work too hard!

      BTW, I appreciate you sticking around here for the last few years, Pochp. Thanks.

      Best,

      Bill

  17. Don

    A very Merry Christmas to you and your family Bill. Yes, a pleasure to see CHRISTMAS instead of the politically correct “don’t offend anyone” usage of Happy Holidays! I absolutely hate it when I hear that spoken. It’s right up there with “have a nice day” lol. In anycase, best wishes to all.
    Don

    • Hi Don,

      Yep, it’s getting a little heavy.

      I hear ya on the “have a nice day” thing. Some days when I get this “I don’t have to communicate – I’ve done my bit – throwaway” I offer to share my day’s experiences to that point (usually, a chaotic day). Very few takers, I’m afraid. :)

      Merry Christmas to you and your family, Don.

      Best,

      Bill

    • delenn13

      @Don,
      When some one tells me to “Have a nice day”, I mutter under my breath..some times loudly, “Don’t tell me what to do!” Not like it helps, but it makes me feel better.

  18. Mark Schneider

    Bill,
    Merry Christmas Bill, thanks for all your hard work over the year.
    Cheers
    Mark

    • Thanks Mark. And, the same “best wishes” are heading your way.

      Most regular readers are pretty familiar with you Mark – and, the superb technical articles you have guest posted here. They may be less familiar with this stat though. Two of the top ten articles on this site, were written by you.

      Yes, blogging can often be a bit of hard work – but, it sure is easier when the load is shared by a great guy like you. Thank you.

      Best,

      Bill

  19. Keith

    Very Merry Christmas to you Bill!! You have the BEST and COOLEST blog on the net. I can’t say ENOUGH how good it is!!!

    • Hey Keith,

      Wow! Now that’s the best Christmas gift I got this year. :)

      It’s been great having you participate through the year. Looking forward to much more.

      Enjoy the Christmas season.

      Best,

      Bill

  20. Murphy

    Hi,
    Merry Christmas to you too .
    Best regards !
    PS. I know , I know …. I’m late but we have a saying : It’s better late than never :) .

    • Hey Murphy,

      LOL! Yes, “It’s better late than never.”

      Merry Christmas! Hopefully, you are relaxing today following yesterday’s festivities. :)

      Thank you for all your help this past year. Your postings to forums, linkbacks, etc., are most appreciated.

      Best,

      Bill

  21. Hazel

    Hi, Bill! Thank you for your New Year greeting! In return I wish you the fruition of all your hopes and dreams for 2012. May you have health, happiness and above all, sustained peace of mind.
    Warm regards,
    Hazel