How to Speed Up Your Downloads

Twiddling your thumbs while you download? Then read on. Guest writer Jared Scott describes a solution you may not yet have considered.

imageDo you ever find yourself in a rush for no reason?

Sometimes I find myself glaring at the microwave impatiently waiting, as if it is plotting against me in some attempt to keep me from eating.

It’s easy to forget that just having the ability to microwave something is an advance in food preparation and the time it takes.

Improvements in technology have spoiled us.

Our generation is on the go like never before. We are always mobile, always looking for the fastest option.

I get angry at my computer daily for almost the same reasons I do my microwave. While it is not withholding food from me, it is stealing my time. It keeps me hostage while it restarts, slowly returning to a functional state.

If you have ever used a computer this is something you have probably experienced and can relate to as well.

Another time consuming task that I prefer not to spend my time doing is downloading.

Have you ever downloaded something before and it seems to take an eternity?

This is another frustrating problem that is usually the result of a slow or weak internet connection. Sometimes I find myself counting with the “Percentage Complete” pop-up window as I download updates for my computer.

Downloads can take an even larger amount of time depending on the size of the file.

Sometimes I have left my computer downloading something overnight only to find it still in progress the next morning.

If we have these super fast Internet connections with all this bandwidth, it seems like a shame not to be able to use them to their full capabilities.

Usenet – The past is the future.

Most people remember Usenet as the original social network. The Facebook of its day.

The modern Usenet however is a powerful storehouse of information that allows you to download as fast as your internet connection will allow.

By providing you a direct (encrypted) connection to a commercial grade server farm, you can push the limits of your Internet connection.

Peer-to-peer technologies clog up your speed by sharing connections with others.

With Usenet, you are connecting directly to the source and are not sharing anything with anybody else.

Like a fine wine, Usenet has certainly gotten better with age. Investments made by premium providers have allowed Usenet to move more than 9 Terabytes of information on a daily basis.

It has adapted to meet the needs of our modern world.

When Usenet first began it was a much like a social network. Users posted messages almost like posts in a web-based forum.

Usenet evolved to incorporate the ability for its users to upload all types of audio, video and image files as well.

While the World Wide Web became the place we get our “news” from, Usenet transformed into a global repository for information.

Usenet survives in a fast paced world because it satisfies our need for speed.

Not many things last in this world.

But when something works, it works. Usenet hasn’t been around for 32 years for any other reason. It has continued to evolve and compete with emerging technologies.

And if you are looking for speed in downloading, Usenet is second to none.

Jared Scott is the public outreach manager for Binverse.com a leading Usenet provider. You can follow his updates on Twitter.

If you found this article useful, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

14 Comments

Filed under downloads, Encryption, Geek Software and Tools, Guest Writers, Interconnectivity, Windows Tips and Tools

14 responses to “How to Speed Up Your Downloads

  1. Hi bill…
    what is that usenet ? is it web page or what?can i use it from egypt?
    thanks!

  2. Mal

    Hey Bill,
    Cool article. I remember the days of dialup, when a couple of megs of downloads would take over 5 mins. THAT was frustration. I reckon I must have been one of the first people in Australia to get broadband once it became available lol. Reminds me of the “Need for Speed” game.
    Cheers

  3. Ivo Sanader

    The article was very interesting until i went to the website.
    Why is the binverse website very poorly rated on WOT?
    Kind of discouraging to use it…

  4. Ivo Sanader

    Hey Bill,

    Why did you delete my comment when it was clearly not SPAM.
    I was asking a question,I thought you cared about your readers.

    • Ivo,

      WTF. You’re well out of line here – your sarcasm says more about you than you might realize. I suggest that you take an upgrading course in MANNERS/COURTESY.

      In the first place, you should realize this blog is a hobby (do you see any ads on this site?), and the time devoted to it (including responding to readers), is a function of the available time left when I’ve fulfilled my obligations to my shareholders/employees, my family, and to myself. If you’re pissed because you have to wait less than 24 hours for a response from me then, you need to look elsewhere.

      As for your question on WOT – if you were a regular reader here, then you would be aware that I frequently point out that WOT is notorious for false/manipulated ratings. If you had done even a cursory check, you would be aware that the website in question is solid green – across the board – with every site rating service, other than WOT.

      Finally, out of the 80,000+ comments received on this blog – 63,000 have been spam, 17,000+ have been posted, and only 4 comments have been rejected for profanity, or a personal attack on another commenter. As I said in the opening – you’re well out of line.

      Bill

      • Ivo Sanader

        Sorry Bill,

        I sincerely apologize about my previous comment, I’ve had a rough month at work and don’t know what got in to me, I know that doesn’t excuse my behavior.
        When i visited the blog last time it didn’t show my previous comment so I overreacted in a very bad way, again I apologize for my degenerate behavior, you have every right to call me out.

        I just want to thank you for this blog, it has been a great place to get informed on how to be secure on the net , your product reviews have introduced me to uncountable amounts of interesting and practical software and you truly are a rare breed of tech blogers that is practically dying out (no ads and all).

        I hope you can forgive me for my shameful behaviour

        Sincerely, Ivo

  5. Grgec

    Hey Bill,

    Could you recommend me a better site rating service than WOT?
    I was under the impression that WOT was a good one.

  6. John Bent

    Hi Bill,

    You are so right about the need for speed. I suppose it is a function of our adaptability that we respond this way to many things speeding up. Another example is buying items on line. Normally goods are dispatched in 48 hours, so I start champing at the bit if something doesn’t arrive in a week. Hell I’ve even been known to get impatient waiting for responses to comments on a blog and then felt bad when I thought about it :)

    Kind regards
    John

    • Hi John,

      LOL! Yes, I remember something about that last one. :) You’re right though – we’re obsessed with speed.

      Just this past week one of my neighbours was complaining that his download speeds were “slow” so obviously, his ISP was ripping him off. But, testing the connection with speedtest.net/ revealed his ISP was delivering exactly as promised – 14 Mbps. He had some difficulty understanding that the speed of the originating website is a critical issue.

      Best,

      Bill