Is IObit Uninstaller 2.0 A Revo Uninstaller Worthy Competitor?

imageLike most geeks, Revo Uninstaller is my main “go to” program for uninstalling applications – except anti-malware applications, which tend to be tricky to remove. Luckily, AppRemover, a powerful free anti-malware, antivirus application remover, supports the removal of virtually all of the most popular antivirus and antispyware applications.

IObit, the developers of the highly recommended Advanced SystemCare, has spread its wings in the last few years and released a raft of applications (both free and commercial), which cover a broad spectrum of computer consumers’ needs. One of these is IObit Uninstaller – now in its second version – which is designed to go toe-to-toe with the venerable Revo Uninstaller.

IObit Uninstaller 2.0, is a simple executable file which does not require installation – making it suitable for a USB toolbox. I emphasize this point, since I often get reader questions wondering why a particular application is not listed in “All Programs”, or elsewhere.

Since IObit Uninstaller is a simple executable, it’s blazingly fast out of the gate – as it should be – and launches into a simple, and instinctive, user interface.

For this review walkthrough, I have chosen to uninstall an application updater on my test system – Nvidia Update – which, as you can see – IObit Uninstaller has located and listed under “All Programs”.

image

Prior to completing the uninstall action, the application offers an opportunity to create a Restore Point.

image

In this case, the uninstall process took a matter of just a few seconds following which, a secondary scan (Powerful Scan), was offered. The Powerful Scan has been designed to clean out any leftover entries – including cleaning up the registry.

image

As the following screen capture indicates, using the Powerful Scan was a good choice since the initial scan had not deleted the program file directory.

image

As illustrated in the following screen shot, IObit Uninstaller offers the user a number of additional uninstall options – other than the straightforward “All Programs” option. You’ll also note, that the application is available in a number of selected languages.

image

Fast facts:

Batch Uninstall – Uninstall several applications so easily with just one click.

Standard and Advanced Uninstall – While Standard Uninstall works as the Windows built-in Add/Remove Programs function, Advanced Uninstall function helps you scan Windows registry and hard drive for any possible installation leftovers.

1-Click Toolbars Removal – Annoyed by so many toolbars in your system? Here’s the simplest and fastest solution.

Portable Application – Look for a pure uninstaller that does NOT need an installation and will not screw your system again? IObit Uninstaller is the answer.

Forced Uninstall – Even if a program is not listed in Windows built-in Add/Remove Programs, this feature still can help you automatically find the program’s leftovers and traces in your system and remove them completely.

Log Manager and Restoration – Easily view what has been changed by IObit Uninstaller. Every time an “Advanced Uninstall” is performed, a restore point image will be automatically set for possible future system restoration.

Free and Easy-to-use – No IT knowledge needed, just download it and simply run it to remove all junk programs.

System requirements: Windows 7 (32 bit), Windows 7 (64 bit), Windows Vista (32 bit), Windows Vista (64 bit), Windows XP.

Download at: Softpedia

Frankly, I don’t think either product has a marked competitive advantage – one over the other. Both applications perform essentially the same function – uninstall applications. Still, there are differences that should be noted.

IObit Uninstaller Pluses – The user interface sidebar lists a number of items   that may be important to an average user, including – installed toolbars, recently installed applications, large programs, rarely used applications,  and Windows Updates. Full 64-bit compatibility.

Revo Uninstaller Pluses – Revo Uninstaller (as illustrated in the following graphic), provides an opportunity to dig deep into an application prior to removal and, additional information on an entry can be generated by following the enclosed Google search link.

image

The following graphic illustrates additional functionality available in Revo  including – Autorun Manager, Tracks Cleaner and access to Windows System Tools. These additional features may have more value to an advanced user than to an average user.

image

In the final analysis – which one is better?

I don’t think it’s quite as simple as to which one is better. But, I do think IObit Uninstaller may be better suited to those users who are not as familiar with system maintenance as more educated users. It seems to me, that Revo Uninstaller has more broad appeal for those users who like to dig just a little deeper.

Additional free uninstaller software - 

MenuUninstaller is a free Context Menu alternative to the Windows Add or Remove Programs applet

SlimCleaner Final – Optimizer, Uninstaller, Shredder and Anti- Hijacker Built In

If you found this article useful, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

13 Comments

Filed under 64 Bit Software, Computer Maintenance, downloads, Freeware, IObit, Portable Applications, Software, Uninstall Tools, Windows Tips and Tools

13 responses to “Is IObit Uninstaller 2.0 A Revo Uninstaller Worthy Competitor?

  1. Bill,

    Thank you for this review. I am a Revo Uninstaller user and is hard for me to change. Your final analysis (or comparison) of IObit’s Unistaller and Revo Uninstaller help me make up my mind on these two apps. Also, gives me another option to recommend to others. Great writeup on this…

    Rick

  2. TRY

    I believe the real strength lies in Real-time monitoring feature of Uninstallers which will come in uninstalling the app completely without affecting other apps, IObit lacks this feature unlike Revo but even Revo UI misses files sometime.Its difficult to say whether IObit UI or any UI can remove an app completely without a extensive test.
    There are several Windows based Uninstallers with Real-time monitoring feature(more than 10), most of them are sharewares but for testing a trial may suffice.

    Regards

    • Hey TRY,

      I hear where you’re coming from on this and I agree. Real-time monitoring (according to readers here, who use this feature), adds real value. Good to get your view on this – glad you brought this point out.

      Best,

      Bill

  3. Mal

    Hey Bill,
    I think I will stick with Revo, I’ve been using it for a long time, and it never fails to impress me. I’ve said it before, but again, if it aint broke, don’t fix it.
    Cheers

    • Hey Mal,

      Gotta agree!

      When you find an app that works as well as Revo, CCleaner, ThreatFire, and a load of others I can think of – moving on just doesn’t make sense.

      As usual, your comment is spot on.

      Best,

      Bill

  4. Hi there Bill ~ nice post

    I have a few complex programs that update every other week (it feels like) & if I use Revo real-time monitoring for the updates I end up with a series of logs. But the old logs can contain information NOT in the newest log because some major updates might relocate a data file or discontinue a particular process ~ information that will not be in the newest log. Of course the other problem is you have to TELL Revo to begin monitoring the installation of an update ~ monitoring isn’t ‘on’ all the time ~ thus one needs to turn off any auto update settings (not a problem)

    I asked Revo how to best uninstall a program with multiple logs so as to leave no traces & they said that Revo only uses the newest log so the only way is to entirely uninstall the program before each update.

    However, a complete uninstall with a view to updating runs the risk of losing (say) important data files that I may want to carry over to the new installation. I believe that Revo are working on this problem for their next major paid version. I suppose that…

    Monitoring will have to be ‘on’ at all times
    Will have to ‘talk’ to the firewall
    Will have to keep a complete history of a program in one log
    Will have to have another step in the uninstall to ask the user what to do about data files & relocated items

    What I’ve learned from this:
    ** Backups & restore points !
    ** I ask myself “do I really need this new app that everyone likes?) & 95% of the time I answer “no”
    ** If I find I haven’t used a program for many months I disable any processes it has created & just leave it ~ what’s the point of uninstalling when I’ve got plenty of free disk space ?

    BTW Full 64-bit compatibility is available in the paid Revo version

    • Hi Michael,

      I agree – “entirely uninstall the program before each update”, hardly seems like a practical solution. The only solution I can think of creates work – e.g copy each (old) log over to a named Folder prior to each new update. Very clunky!!

      An instruction manual could be written about what you’ve learned – you’ve covered the basis of it in just a few words. Nice. :)

      Disabling unneeded processes (changing “auto” to “manual”), and then not uninstalling the relevant application/s is a definite boost to good resource usage. A very “educated” way to do things.

      I was aware that Revo 64 bit is available in the paid version, but I’m glad you pointed this out. What I find hard to understand is – why Revo restrict 64 bit support to this version only? Seems like a weakness in “free” marketing to me.

      As usual, you’re comment has added substantially to the post, and as always, I’m grateful.

      Best,

      Bill

  5. Thanks ~ it’s a case of what I can give back in return for the free eduction & entertainment I derive from the wide-ranging Mr. Mullins

  6. Ben

    For now I’m sticking with Iobit Uninstaller because the free version of Revo doesn’t include 64-bit support. I was wondering, What does no 64-bit support exactly mean? Can it install on 64-bit computers, but not detect 64-bit programs? I’m curious…

    • Hi Ben,

      Generally – “no 64-bit support” refers to the lack of “native” support for an application. In other word, the application has not been coded to take advantage of a 64 bit system. It does not mean however, that an application will not run on a 64 bit system. Most 32 bit applications run very nicely on a 64 bit system..

      Best,

      Bill

  7. John Bent

    Hi Bill,

    I’ve tried other IObit applications and found them to be ok. Think I’ll stick with Revo Pro, even though it is increasingly slow (contradiction in terms?) to open these days. Guess I need to reduce the number of programs installed, currently 216!

    I like the Hunter mode included with Revo and the other tools it contains.

    Kind regards
    John

    • Hi John,

      Have to agree – Revo is the definite winner – especially the Hunter mode applet.

      I can’t help but contrast your 216 installed apps, with my 37. Looks like I have some catching up to do. :)

      Best,

      Bill