Catch Your Online Grammar, Spelling, and Style Mistakes, With After The Deadline

imageChurning out two blog posts every day is hard on the eyes – not to mention the back, the wrists – well you get the point. As a consequence – I sometimes find myself looking (with crossed eyes) at words running into words, gross misspellings (easy to correct), or improper word usage (sometimes, not so easy to correct). Your versus you’re, and its versus it’s, for example, can be particularly difficult to pick up when used incorrectly.

Here’s a good example of this – recently pointed out by a reader.

Comment:

“You’re friends won’t – other than to deny that they watch it – or, perhaps to decry it’s prevalence” You’re means You are – so “you are friends won’t” doesn’t make sense, use “Your friends” instead.

“It’s” always means “It is” – so “decry it is presence” doesn’t make sense; use “decry its presence” instead.

Not a big deal, you might be thinking. Maybe not – but as often as not, common errors, particularly punctuation errors, can change the meaning of what you meant to say. I’m sure you’ve seen this example – Let’s eat, Mother. versus – Let’s eat Mother.

I write all my blog articles in open source LibreOffice (with grammar checker turned on), and then copy the articles to Windows Live Writer prior to posting into WordPress.

image

Despite an active grammar checker, proofreading, as time consuming as it can often be, is unavoidable. Still, I’ve learned that proofreading is no guarantee that the odd mistake will not slip through.

There is a partial solution (no technology is perfect), that can help you (and me), avoid the most common grammar mistakes, spelling errors (including contextual spelling errors), and style mistakes, in online interactions – including blog postings, emails (mistakes here can be deadly), Facebook, Twitter, etc.

After the Deadline – developed by the people behind WordPress – is an open source (free), language checker for the Web which is available as:

An add-on for Firefox.

An extension for Google Chrome.

A plugin for Windows Live Writer.

A plugin for self-hosted WordPress blogs.

An extension for OpenOffice.org Writer (still in Beta).

Following installation of After the Deadline on my system as a Firefox add-on, I found it to be reasonably accurate – but not perfect (more on this later). Nevertheless, I’ll keep it on my system – at least in the short term (for the second time).

Installation, in my case, was the usual automatic Firefox add-on install, followed by an easy Options set up as the following screen capture indicates.

image

The following screen shots (click to expand) show spelling errors (an unrecognized word), and style recommendations – in a previous post.

image

image

The type of recommendation shown in the screen shot directly above (change “terminate” to “end”, or “stop”), is the primary reason I deleted this add-on previously.

Consistently, higher level words were marked down as “complex expressions”. It may be popular to assume that “dumbing down” is in vogue, but not from where I’m sitting.

Fast facts:

Checks Spelling – Spell checker looks at context and uses artificial intelligence to make recommendations.

Detects Misused Words – Most spell checkers assume any word in their dictionary is correct regardless of context. This means all misused word errors go unnoticed.

Checks Style – Style checker has thousands of rules and uses context to choose the best suggestions.

Checks Grammar – The grammar checker in After the Deadline protects you from common writing errors. After the Deadline uses statistics to automatically find exceptions to its grammar rules, making it one of the smartest grammar checkers around.

Explains Errors – The misused word detector, grammar checker, and style checker explain the mistakes and suggestions to you. Click an error and choose the “Explain …” option.

Download at: After the Deadline

After the Deadline checks English, French, German, Portuguese, and Spanish text.

If you found this article useful, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

11 Comments

Filed under Browser add-ons, Chrome Add-ons, downloads, Email, FaceBook, Firefox, Firefox Add-ons, Freeware, Google Chrome, Interconnectivity, Software, Twitter, Windows Tips and Tools, WordPress, Writing

11 responses to “Catch Your Online Grammar, Spelling, and Style Mistakes, With After The Deadline

  1. Hi Bill

    I checked out the FAQ:
    Q Do you differentiate between American, British, and Canadian English?
    A. Not yet. For now, American, British, and Canadian variations of words are in our dictionary

    I’ll hang on until it does. At the moment I use British English Dictionary R1.19 for Firefox which only handles slepping & LibreOffice 3.4.1 with English (UK) settings witch check’s if Im loosing it on the grammer side. Its very affective !

    BTW I think you are a very good communicator. It’s a pleasure to read your Thoughts (so to speak) :)

    • Hi Michael,

      LOL!! You’ve made the point well – “witch check’s if Im loosing it on the grammer side. Its very affective !” Nicely done.

      Thank you for the compliment – I’ll always line up for those. :)

      Best,

      Bill

  2. Hi Bill,

    I tried this once, when I was using OpenOffice (I now use LibreOffice) and it was very slow. Maybe it was my laptop but I removed it anyway. I may try it again.

  3. Thank you for the review sir Bill. I used After the Deadline some time ago and its very good. I also have After the Deadline in Windows Live Writer to aid my grammar deficiencies. Still a lot of learning to to :)

  4. Seems like a great tool for anyone with a blog. I will have to give this a try. Thanks!

    • Hey Dominic,

      Blogging is tough enough – so yeah, anything that makes it easier is worth a try.

      Hope things are cool with you. :)

      Bill

      • Hi Bill,

        Things are cool with me :) Thanks for asking. As you can probably see, I am trying my hand at this wordpress blog thing as well. I will say, I am pretty impressed so far. This is the first time I have tried any type of template. In the past, it has always been manual editing of html/asp pages.

        Dominic