Emsisoft Mamutu – Free (Save $30) Until Sunday, May 1, 11:59 PM PDT

Regular reader, and my good Aussie friend, John W., has just given me a heads up on a pretty cool offering from Emsisoft. Emsisoft is noted for developing some of the better antimalware applications, so you might want to consider giving  Mamutu a try.

This application appears, in many respects, to run along the same lines of ThreatFire – an antimalware application I recommend as a formative part of a layered security approach. See – ThreatFire Version 4.7.0 – Free Protection Against Zero Day Malware, on this site.

From the developer:

Today, we bring you this special offer on Emsisoft Mamutu. From now until Sunday, we are giving away a free copy of Mamutu. Not only does it monitor all active programs for dangerous behavior, but it also blocks malicious activities in real time.

Its Behavior Blocking and Zero-Day-Attacks technology recognizes new and unknown Trojans, backdoors, keyloggers, worms, viruses, spyware, adware, and rootkits without the need of daily signature updates, protecting you long before the signature databases have been updated.

So, where does this funny-sounding name come from? The word Mamutu is composed of two words: “Malware” and “Mutu,” which comes from the Maori language. It means “stop,” so we were told that the developers of Mamutu wanted to describe exactly what the program does: terminate all types of Malware.

In summary, here is a quick rundown of Emsisoft Mamutu’s features:

  • It monitors all active programs for dangerous behavior real-time
  • Recognizes new and unknown Trojans, worms, and viruses
  • Protects your PC without weighing down its resources, so it does not slow you down

This free offer is good until Sunday, May 1, 11:59 p.m. PDT, so grab your free copy while you can and give it a try.

Note: registration required.

If you found this article useful, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

2 Comments

Filed under Windows Tips and Tools, Anti-Malware Tools, System Security, Anti-Keyloggers, rootkits, Don't Get Hacked, downloads, Giveaways, Malware Protection

2 responses to “Emsisoft Mamutu – Free (Save $30) Until Sunday, May 1, 11:59 PM PDT

  1. Mal

    Hey Bill,
    It looks really good, but I think I will stick with Threatfire. It hasn’t ever let me down. As the old saying goes, “If it aint broke, don’t fix it”.
    Of course, there are exceptions to this rule. Recently, after Zemana Antilogger notified me of an update, I decided to do a fresh install of the program. Sometimes I am an idiot, and in this case forgot to save my licence key lol. So, I am now using Spyshelter, which I have to admit, happily surprised me. A very capable program, I am very impressed.
    Cheers

    • Hey Mal,

      Totally agree – “If it aint broke, don’t fix it”. So, like you, I’m sticking with ThreatFire.

      Spyshelter is a great app, no doubt about it. BTW, you’re not alone – I did exactly the same thing with Zemana not too long ago. Luckily, the key was available in one of my archived emails. Maybe you’ll have some luck in that direction.

      Best,

      Bill