The Comical Comment Spammer

Regular readers are familiar with my articles on comment spam and how, in some instances, it can be dangerous. The last time we discussed this was in Norton DNS Can Save Your Butt!

It’s really a no-brainer to reject a spam comment that looks like this -

Get free laptop, this is not scam! visit: [url=]http://……………………[/url]

But, despite the fact that the following is a spam comment, I had to laugh. I’ll give this spammer points for creativity. Now, his creativity, coupled with ethics and a little bit of common sense, (if he had any), might convince him to find another line of work!

HELP! I’m currently being held prisoner by the Russian mafia url=http://www…………………………[/url] ……….……. and being forced to post spam comments on blogs and forum! If you don’t approve this they will kill me [url=http://www.male-sexual-styles………………………………….. They’re coming back now. xyzrxyz [url=http://pills.buypenisenlargement………………………………….. Please send help! [url=http://www.male-sexual.…………………………………………..

image

While this spam comment is absurdly comical, I have no doubt whatsoever, that someone, somewhere, will take this as a serious comment and allow it. Bloggers, just like computer users, aren’t immune to naiveté.

If you found this article useful, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

5 Comments

Filed under cybercrime, Email, email scams, Humor, spam, Windows Tips and Tools

5 responses to “The Comical Comment Spammer

  1. The last comment spammer on my blog was incredible sneaky. He stroked my ego by telling me how he’d found my blog while doing ‘work-related research’ and enjoyed reading my articles so much that he would certainly be back. The only problem is that he had a web address attached to his comment for a nitric oxide website (thought that was kinda strange, but was enjoying the compliments too much to care). Then a day later he posted the exact same comment on a different post under a different name with the same nitric oxide website attached, that’s when I realised he probably hadn’t read a single thing on my blog. That’ll teach me :-)

    • Hey Danielle,

      I can well understand why you found the compliment appropriate – you have an excellent site. Eclectic, and very cool! And, I will be back.

      Frankly, the second I see a flattering comment with a link, where no reference is made to specific article content – out it goes.

      Glad to see your comment. Thank you.

      BTW, I really did Bookmark your site. :)

      Bill

  2. Mal

    Hey Bill,

    If he had mentioned where he was being held prisoner, then maybe I could help him by sending in the CIA or Australia’s ASIO or something. But he didn’t, so looks like he will be killed.

    Cheers

  3. Thanks for the advice – and the compliment. I started my blog about two weeks ago, and I’m loving the whole experience.

    I have also bookmarked your site now and will definitely check in from time to time.

    Happy blogging :-)