Panda Security Says Apple’s iOS Not Bulletproof

PandaLabs, the anti-malware laboratory of Panda Security, the company responsible for Panda Cloud Antivirus, disclosed today that iPads, are NOT invulnerable to malware.

According to Panda, “Apple users’ brand new iPads could potentially fall prey to the same type of malware as iPhones, such as the malware that was able to infect jailbroken iPhones last year”. Panda goes on to say, “any device that runs on Apple’s operating system iOS (iPhone, iPad, iPod touch) is vulnerable to this threat.”

To my way of thinking, it’s long past the time for Apple to stop running those highly deceptive television commercials. Commercials,  in which the impression is created that Apple products are somehow hardened against malware attacks. Facts, continuously disprove this assertion.

In March of this year, for example, Apple fixed 53 security holes in OS X, and in the past several days patched 65 security flaws in its iPhone and  iPod Touch operating system.

For more information, and to see the video demonstration of the Eeki.A Worm Infecting an Apple iPad, click on the graphic.

image

About PandaLabs:

Since 1990, its mission has been to detect and eliminate new threats as rapidly as possible to offer our clients maximum security. To do so, PandaLabs has an innovative automated system that analyzes and classifies thousands of new samples a day and returns automatic verdicts (malware or goodware). This system is the basis of collective intelligence, Panda Security’s new security model which can even detect malware that has evaded other security solutions.

Currently, 99.4 percent of malware detected by PandaLabs is analyzed through this system of collective intelligence. This is complemented through the work of several teams, each specialized in a specific type of malware (viruses, worms, Trojans, spyware, phishing, spam, etc), who work 24/7 to provide global coverage. This translates into more secure, simpler and more resource-friendly solutions for clients.

More information is available in the PandaLabs blog.

If you found this article useful, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

7 Comments

Filed under Apple, Don't Get Hacked, Internet Security Alerts, iPad, iPhone, iPod touch, Mac, Malware Advisories, Panda Security, PandaLabs, Software

7 responses to “Panda Security Says Apple’s iOS Not Bulletproof

  1. I love Panda cloud AV, I use to use their desktop program years ago I replaced Norton with Panda and loved it.
    I think any OS is potentially insecure, I think users will always be a weak link, as Steve Gibson says “software wants to break”.
    But living with the restrictions that come with an OS as locked down as iOS is a tough pill to swallow. I still think its pretty safe, but if it becomes dominant, it will become a target. Once the incentive to hack is there, exploits will follow. I do think it maybe more difficult to exploit given the anal nature of Apple and their fearless leader.
    Apples ad campaign was always annoying to me, they are notoriously slow to patch and love to blame others (Adobe) for issue’s they have caused.
    Mark

    • Hey Mark,

      Apple’s ad campaigns lack appropriate information, and that translates into misinformation as far as I’m concerned. Might not be out and out lying, but it’s damn close. And you’re right – they love to engage in the “pass the blame” game.

      As you say “any OS is potentially insecure” and if iOS reaches the right critical mass, which I expect it will – watch out. The bad guys will go nuclear on it. If Apple’s “fearless leader” had the right stuff, he’d tone down the “we’re invincible” rhetoric. Marketing rhetoric is one thing – but bullshit is another.

      Best,

      Bill

  2. Hey bill, I can’t remember how I found your site, but it’s excellent……

    …do you have an article on Iphone security?

    • Hey Marcus,

      Thank you.

      I don’t use an iPhone; I use a BlackBerry instead. But, I’m thinking about an iPhone4, and if I go that route, no doubt I’ll starting investigation iPhone security more closely.

      Bill

  3. Well hurry up Bill, I’ve just bought he IP4.

  4. Marcus

    Yeh – Its a nice piece of kit, certainly feels solid.

    (and it’s the only apple I can afford).

    But as far as I can see, its a small PC, so I don’t see it is much different in terms of security to anything else….

    Not sure I will be using unsecured wifi networks with it.

    I think Avira do a mobile phone security application…….but I need to research something specifically for Apple.

    Sophos??

    Cheers
    Marcus