Download RKill – Free Antimalware Specialty Removal Tool

Multiple antimalware developers are now reporting, we are currently being exposed to approximately 70,000 new malware threats EVERY day!

Unfortunately for those of us who have to deal with this onslaught, much of this malware is smart – very smart. So smart in fact, that in many cases malware will recognize that the infected user is attempting to launch an antimalware application, and abort the launch.

At this point, many users give up and resort to more drastic measures, including a disk wipe, reformat, and an OS re-install. Thankfully, there is another option.

Larry Abrams over at BleepingComputer, perhaps the best web site of its type, where free help is available for many computer related problems, including the removal of rogue software, has developed an excellent free tool to deal with this problem.

Here’s how Larry describes RKill -

“RKill is a program developed at BleepingComputer.com that was originally designed for the use in our malware removal guides. It was created so that we could have an easy to use tool that kills known processes that stop the use of our normal anti-malware applications. Simple as that. Nothing fancy. Just kill known malware processes so that anti-malware programs can do their job.”

Graphic courtesy of Bleeping Computer.

If you deal with malware removal on a regular basis, or you’re a “super user”, and I know many of you are, I highly recommend that you add RKill to your antimalware toolbox.

RKill is available at the following download sites:

RKill.com Download Link

RKill.exe Download Link

RKill.scr Download Link

eXplorer.exe Download Link

iExplore.exe Download Link

Note: Because RKill may exhibit behavior similar to the malware it is designed to shut down, your AV may recognize it as malware. This condition is not unusual when dealing with antimalware specialty tools. RKill is a safe application.

Before using RKill get more complete instructions here.

If you found this article useful, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

18 Comments

Filed under Anti-Malware Tools, downloads, Free Anti-malware Software, Freeware, Geek Software and Tools, Malware Removal, Manual Malware Removal, Recommended Web Sites, Software, Windows 7, Windows Tips and Tools, Windows Vista, Windows XP

18 responses to “Download RKill – Free Antimalware Specialty Removal Tool

  1. Marcus

    Nice info Bill.

    Downloaded….

    • Hey Marcus,

      I gave this a bit of a workout, and it seems to work well. It did however, shut down Immunet Protect, one of my AV solutions, based on its behavior. No big deal though, it just did what it’s designed to do.

      Bill

  2. Liam O' Moulain

    Another one that’s over my head Bill. But I’m learning as I go, so I’ll download this one.

    Liam

  3. Ranjan

    Hey Bill,
    Have been using it for so many months and it’s really a cool tool.. My friend’s often ask me for malware help..

    Regards!

  4. Pingback: » Download RKill – Free Antimalware Specialty Removal Tool « Bill … RWPS

  5. Ranjan

    And your friends too are lucky to have you…
    Another good aspect of this is that it helps keep your pc skills charged…

  6. Bill,
    I agree your blog is great for getting me to try new programs and keeping my “pc-skills charged”. When I first found the blog I was pretty much limited to reformatting, not a great way to disinfect a computer unless absolutely needed.
    Thanks for all the great info.
    Mark

    • Well Mark, it’s definitely been a reciprocal arrangement. I’ve certainly gotten my fair share of solid tips from you, for which I thank you.

      Have a great weekend.

      Best,

      Bill

  7. Adrian

    Got detected by NOD32 as malware. Never mind, I know that’s because ESET are cautious.

  8. do uyou have to install or just run it off the link if you have to download it to your drive how do you do it, this was recomended by a friend

    • Hey Rich,

      If you are unfamiliar with downloading to your HD, (which is what’s required), and then running the application from that drive’s download folder, you should have you friend (the one who recommended RKill), do this. This tool is used as part of a malware removal process recommended for high level users only.

      Bill

  9. Phil

    Hi Bill,

    I’ve just been infected with a fake Windows Security Alert virus. It has completely crippled my PC. I can’t run any program, can’t access the Control Panel, My Computer etc. I downloaded the recommended Malware links from Bleeding Computer (on a different PC) but of course I can’t run them on the infected PC. When I try to run the FixEd.reg file I get a security warning, asking if I want to run the anti virus software (the virus).

    If I can’t install and/or run the Malware software is my only option a format?

    Any help would be hugely appreciated.

    Phil.