Download Free Comodo System Cleaner – Gets the Deep Dirt Out!

What could be a more powerful free solution, than that old standby CCleaner, which removes unused files, and ensures your privacy by cleaning traces of your online activities? Well, how about Comodo System Cleaner (last update February 09, 2010), which will do all that, and much more.

I’m a big fan of Comodo’s products, including their free Firewall and AntiVirus software. So, I was expecting big things from Comodo System Cleaner, and I wasn’t disappointed. After considerable testing, I gave this free application a big “thumbs up”.

Comodo Privacy Cleaner 1

Fast facts:

Registry Cleaner – Optimizes and repairs your Windows registry by running an in-depth scan to remove, or repair, unnecessary or corrupted registry keys.

Disk Cleaner - This utility lets you quickly clear them all, to free up space and improve performance. Also allows you to schedule regular clean up routines.

Privacy Cleaner – Obliterates your digital paper trail and helps protect you from identity theft by cleaning history, cache, cookies and usage records from Internet browsers, Windows locations, and popular software.

System Settings - With over 50 tweaks in the ‘System Settings’ area alone, you can optimize Windows behavior in a more powerful and intuitive way than ever before.

System Information – Detailed and easily accessible ‘dashboard’ summary of all the hardware and software installed on your computer.

Autorun Manager – Fingertip control over exactly which programs and services start with Windows. Helps improve Windows boot up time, stops unwanted programs from hogging system resources and boosts overall system performance and stability.

File Pending Delete – Provides the ability to delete files that are locked and cannot otherwise be deleted when in Windows ‘User Mode’. Specifying a file with the ‘File Pend Delete’ tool will schedule that file to be deleted immediately after the next system restart.

File Wiper – Allows you to permanently remove confidential or sensitive files from your hard drive. When you ‘delete’ a file in Windows, you are really only removing the reference to that file from the system table. The file itself remains on your drive and could be easily re-opened by data thieves. ‘File Wiper’ ensures that the files you want to delete are comprehensively erased and cannot be recovered.

Free – for both home and business users.

Comodo Reg Cleaner 1

I’m a big fan of “all-in-one” system utilities and I have to admit, I really liked this all-in-one free application, with its simple and effective user interface. I particularly liked the easy access the user interface allows to Windows system settings, which makes tweaking the OS a snap.

As the fast facts point out, this application has a wide range of built in system utilities, which in my view, are perfect for the new, or casual computer user. I should point out however, that the built in registry cleaner, just like all registry cleaners, should be used cautiously.

Here’s why – despite the fact that the registry cleaner has a neat feature; it will restart your machine to test if the registry removal will adversely affect your system, on a test run this module screwed up my game settings.

I’m not blaming the module. It was my own fault, since I did not exercise proper caution. Just shows you – even geeks can be careless! It was not a big deal to recover but……….

Comodo provides a comparison chart, on their site, which illustrates the differences between their application and the competition, which you may find interesting.

Comodo Cleaner Comparison

If you’re a casual computer user, Comodo System Cleaner is definitely worth considering as an addition to your system utilities toolbox.

System requirements: Windows XP, Vista, Win 7 and Server 2003 (all – 32 or 64 bit)

Download at: Comodo

If you found this article useful, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

10 Comments

Filed under Comodo, Computer Maintenance, downloads, Freeware, Registry Cleaners, Software, System Tweaks, System Utilities, USB, Utilities, Windows 7, Windows Tips and Tools, Windows Vista, Windows XP

10 responses to “Download Free Comodo System Cleaner – Gets the Deep Dirt Out!

  1. Mal

    Hey Bill,

    Will give this a spin. At the moment I use CCleaner, Glary Utilities and Crap Cleaner. If I want a deep clean of the registry, I use Regseeker, superb product.

    Cheers

    • Bill Mullins

      Hey Mal,

      They’re all great programs – I’d stick with what I know.

      RegSeeker is hands down my favorite Registry cleaner, even though it’s pretty aggressive – probably not the best app for inexperienced users, or at least I’ve always thought so.

      Interesting though, you’re comment got me thinking about how many downloads of RS have gone through Tech Thoughts. I was shocked to discover over 30,000 downloads from here. From all those downloads, I’ve not received a complaint that RS is too aggressive. Guess I’ll have to re-think my assessment.

      Best,

      Bill

  2. Liam O' Moulain

    Bill,

    I’ve been using this program for a few months. I like it and I think it’s pretty impressive.

    Liam

  3. kingpin

    Hi Bill,
    This looks very promising will try it soon.Also Ace Utilities and Windows 7 Manager [for Windows 7 only] are worth a look too.

    • Bill Mullins

      Hey Kingpin,

      Thanks for the tip on Ace Utilities and Windows 7 Manager – I’ll check these out.

      Bill

  4. Ahmed helmi

    Hi bill,,
    idont know if ishould try comodo because i already have glary utilities but imight give it a try when i have time for it .

    • Bill Mullins

      Hey Ahmed,

      Comodo System Cleaner is a very good application, but I hear what you’re saying. Often, it’s best just to stay with what you’ve been using and are familiar with.

      Good to hear from you.

      Best,

      Bill

  5. Bill,
    I agree Comodo makes great software, I’ll try this one out ASAP on my test rig.
    Also I see Technible has a great list of downloadable repair/rescue CD,s http://www.technibble.com/large-list-of-useful-computer-repair-cds/
    Brice has agreat site I’m sure you’ve seen, just thought I’d mention it.
    Have a great weekend.
    Mark

    • Bill Mullins

      Hey Mark,

      I think you’ll be impressed by this one the usual Comodo quality.

      Yes, I ran the Technibble offer a couple of days ago in the Net News column – couple of hundred downloads of this. Well worth the effort.

      I agree, Brice runs a terrific site – I look forward to his updates every day – highly recommend ti.

      You have a great weekend as well.

      Best,

      Bill