Download MWSnap – Free, Powerful Screen Capture Utility

Print Screen Tired of using the clunky Windows Alt-Printscreen command for capturing screen shots, but you don’t want to pay up to $40 to get more control over this function? Do you need more options and functionally when snapping screen shots?

Well the good news is, you don’t have to pay a penny to download and install a great little application that will allow you to do more than just capture screen shots, and that will give you the options and functionally you need.

MWSnap is a highly rated small, yet powerful, Windows program, for snapping (capturing) images from selected parts of the screen. I’ve been using this application for years, and I find it invaluable in day to day usage. I use it daily to create high-quality screen captures for presentations, documents and most particularly screen captures for my Blogs.

mwsnap new 2

The user interface is very simple, and easy to follow. I must admit though, that I rarely see the interface since I generally use the “hot key” function.

mwsnap newf

Fast facts:

Image editing – basic image editing options

5 snapping modes.

Support for BMP, JPG, TIFF, PNG and GIF formats, with selected color depth and quality settings.

System-wide hotkeys.

Clipboard copy/paste.

Printing.

Auto-saving, auto-printing.

Auto-start with Windows.

Minimizing to system tray.

An auto-extending list of fixed sizes, perfect for snapping images for icons and glyphs.

A zoom tool for magnifying selected parts of the screen.

A ruler tool for measuring screen objects lengths.

A color picker showing screen colors with separated RGB parts.

Fast picture viewer.

Adding frames and mouse pointer images.

Multilevel configurable undo and redo.

MWSnap does not require installation, and does not need any special drivers or system files.

Special thanks to Okie for suggesting this article.

System Requirements: any 32-bit Windows OS. I run this app on both Win 7, and XP Pro systems.

Download at: Download.com

If you found this article useful, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

8 Comments

Filed under downloads, Free Photo Applications, Freeware, Image Editors, Screen Capture Utilities, Software, Utilities, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

8 responses to “Download MWSnap – Free, Powerful Screen Capture Utility

  1. A SP

    I have also been using MWSnap as my primary Screen Capture / Screen Print utility for many years. I have also experimented with a couple of other free capture/print programs. I always return to MWSnap. It works flawlessly. MWSnap’s well thought out feature set provides a smooth and logical approach to capturing exactly the screen content the user desires.

    • Bill Mullins

      The same here Scott. I’ve tried a bunch of others over the years, but I always come back to MWSnap. It just works.

      Thank you for commenting.

      Bill

  2. Liam O' Moulain

    Bill,

    I’ve been using this app for years as well. Does what it’s supposed to cleanly and smoothly.

    Highly recommend.

    Liam

  3. g

    I’ll have to try it. Been using picpick for awhile.

  4. Adrian

    Yeah right, I’ll check this out. Anyway, I’ve been using FastStone Capture always – It’s editor is very powerful.

  5. Very good program.
    As a good program for screenshots Jing is also free > http://www.jingproject.com/features/
    PRO version also exists Jinga.
    Best regards Bill.