MalwareBytes Accuses IObit of Theft

image IObit is offering their anti-malware application for free until November 11. On the face of it, I considered this good news.

That is, until a reader informed me that MalwareBytes, the developers of the highly regarded MalwareBytes Anti-malware application, announced yesterday that they have developed evidence that IObit “is stealing and incorporating” their “proprietary database and intellectual property into their software”.

You may want to read this claim from MalwareBytes here. In the meantime, I recommend that you consider the implications carefully before downloading this “free” offer.

If this accusation is true, and it appears to be, based on MalwareBytes investigation, I don’t think it’s appropriate to support such reprehensible behavior. As I said earlier, consider the implications of supporting this kind of behavior, and downloading this free offer, is tacit support.

MalwareBytes offers a free anti-malware solution that is recognized as one of the premier products in the field, and they deserve our support. If you would like to take a stand against theft of intellectual property, you may want to consider the following course of action as suggested by Malware Bytes.

“If you feel the same way we do about this theft, we encourage you to send an email to hosting services such as Download.com and Majorgeeks.com requesting that all IOBit software be removed”.

If you enjoyed this article, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

9 Comments

Filed under downloads, Freeware, internet scams, Windows Tips and Tools

9 responses to “MalwareBytes Accuses IObit of Theft

  1. Bill,

    Evidence looks pretty convincing… Now one has to wonder about their other products. I currently use IOBits SmartDefrag…

    Rick

    • Bill Mullins

      Rick,

      I agree. I was also convinced by the evidence. Your point on IObit’s other products is well made – I use Advanced System Care from time to time, and consider it a top notch app. This is not the first time an AV company has accussed another AV company of this type of thing, but it’s the most blatant one that I can recall. It will be interesting to see how this plays out. We’ll just have to stay tuned.

      Bill

  2. I think I’ll hold off uninstalling IObit 360 until I see something more formal than forum entries. It may be convincing, but I don’t believe in knee-jerk reactions so I’ll monitor the IT news feeds and see what transpires.

  3. Then I was right in uninstalling IObit Care months ago when I detected something wrong when I used Care virus scan. Even their defrag acted strange Bill.

    • Bill Mullins

      Hey Pochp,

      I can’t agree – Advanced System Care 3 is a very worthwhile application. I highly recommend it.

      Bill

  4. Azziz

    Its true that scan rate of iobit security 360 is faster than malwarebytes antimalware, but what about in the life of real pc infection, is IS 360 is better than malwarebytes antimalware, did IS 360 recovered internet connection after attck by virus? For instance when running IS 360 free I found my pc clean but soon after when running advanced system care I found like 5 spywares since ASC has spyware search function. This is strange?

    • Bill Mullins

      Hey Azziz,

      When I hear that one AV is faster than another, it always reminds me of the story of the hare and the tortoise – results are what count; not speed.

      BTW, when testing ASC I noticed the same thing you did. It’s not so strange when you consider how AV software defines “malware”. A particular AV might flag a specific file as malware, whereas another AV might not consider the same file as malware. This is much more common than most people realize, which makes comparisons amongst AV applications more difficult than it should be.

      Bill

  5. Re the Malwarebytes/IOBit spat, I tried updating Malwarebytes on my PC with the latest definitions and it produced an error code and asked me to report it to them. As I still have IOBit 360 running, I exited it. The Malwarebytes update then ran without a hitch! Interesting. I wonder if a scan will now show IOBit 360 as malware.

    • Bill Mullins

      Hey Dave,

      A very curious set of circumstances.

      I read IOBit’s response to Malwarebytes claim. Pretty weak I though, and then Malwarebytes counter response here .

      Bill