AppRemover 2.1 – Remove Security Applications Easily

Delete Earlier this year, a question from a regular reader of this site, started me thinking about the issues faced by typical computer users when they need to, or want to, remove existing security applications which they are replacing with a product perhaps more suited to their needs.

In some cases, removing the application through the Windows Add/Remove applet is a sheer waste of time. Worse, some security application’s own uninstaller will not adequately remove various and sundry registry entries, coupled with hidden files, making it all but impossible to install the user’s new application of choice – due to conflicts with these same registry entries and hidden files.

For example, I recently installed Norton 360 for testing purposes. After the test period, I had extreme difficulty in removing this program, despite the fact I had used my favorite freeware uninstaller utility, Revo Uninstaller.

Now, I’m not picking on Norton, they offer outstanding products; but, I’ve certainly dealt with applications that are far easier to remove.

While it’s true that selective companies do offer a unique uninstaller to remove their applications, including Norton, in my view, there has to be a better way; and there is.

AppRemover a powerful free anti-malware, antivirus application remover which supports the removal of virtually all of the most popular antivirus and antispyware applications.

Since the application is a stand-alone application, running from a USB drive is a breeze.

The interface couldn’t be any easier to understand, as the following graphics illustrate.

APPRemover 1

APPRemover 2

Quick Facts:

Use AppRemover:

When replacing one security application with another

When competing security applications tie up your computer

When the application’s built-in uninstall process fails

When you have forgotten the application password

AppRemover supports a thorough un-installation of hundreds of antivirus and antispyware applications

Uninstalls the following application types:

Antivirus

Antispyware

Firewall

This is a great little tool, and I’ve added it to my “emergency tool kit”, on a USB drive. If you are tech inclined, and even if you’re not, I recommend that you do too. The latest release September 16, 2009, added improvements for manual un-installation.

System Requirements: Windows 2003, Windows Vista, Windows Server 2008, Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows 7

Download at: Download.com

Note: AppRemover is free for personal, non-commercial, use only.

If you enjoyed this article, why not subscribe to this Blog via RSS, or email? It’s easy; just click on this link and you’ll never miss another Tech Thoughts article.

5 Comments

Filed under downloads, Freeware, Geek Software and Tools, Portable Applications, System Utilities, Uninstall Managers, Uninstall Tools, USB, Utilities, Windows Tips and Tools

5 responses to “AppRemover 2.1 – Remove Security Applications Easily

  1. Thank you for this excellent tip! As one who likes to “test drive” some of the freeware and open-source anti-spyware and anti-virus apps, I often find myself needing to remove the ones that don’t cut it. This will be a superb tool for those who like to do some trial-and-error evaluations.

  2. Adrian @ Freeware Elite

    Be a bit careful,

    The first time I ran AppRemover (and that was three weeks ago after a new computer had Norton installed on default) the computer showed a Blue Screen of Death and rebooted, and then showed a “The system has just recovered from a serious error” notification.

    Then, after checking my files, I found that I had totally LOST my Quick Launch bar! I couldn’t enable it anymore. Thankfully, I fixed the problem, and then I reran AppRemover in a sandboxed environment, and the error didn’t re-occur.

    Adrian

  3. Pingback: Perhaps the Best Solution for Removing Anitvirus and Firewall Software « TTC Shelbyville – Technical Blog