Cloud Computing – An Overview

cloud-computing Cloud computing is not a new concept. If you really want to get down to it, the internet IS the cloud.

The purpose of this article and the articles that will follow is to try and flush out desktop computing in the cloud and how we are moving farther away from the traditional “C drive” desktop and closer to the desktop that lives in the cloud.

First of all, we need to figure out what we are trying to accomplish. While there is more than one school of thought on how to get there, the end result is arriving at the same summit.

The simple answer: I envision browser based computing where all of my data exists on a web accessible server from anywhere in the world. This includes my software, desktop, c drive, storage, etc.

So basically when I boot my machine, it opens a browser that contains my “desktop” that exists on the web. Synchronizing that information to the c: drive is important as well for the times you are unable to connect to the web.

cloud-computing 2

I hear what you are saying – the technology already exists and is used. Unfortunately, the people who are making this point are geeks like you and me and do not apply to the mainstream computer user. To get an acceptance of moving desktop computing to the web, we must convince the mainstream that it is safe to do.

In my next article, we will attempt to explore the biggest concern:

The Cloud – Is my information safe?

In the meantime, here are several up and coming Cloud Links:

Cloudo is a cloud based desktop with storage (not much mind you). The concept is there and will give an idea of what is possible. This is free for all, so sign up and give it a try.

This is a short article explaining Google’s up and coming Gdrive and their attempt to dethrone Microsoft from your desktop.

Guest Writer: This is a guest post by Glenn Taggart of The Crazy World of G, who brings a background as a high level super user, to the Blogging world.

Why not pay a visit to Glenn’s site at The Crazy World of G.

5 Comments

Filed under Cloud Computing Applications, Geek Software and Tools, Google, Interconnectivity, Networking, Software, Web Development, Windows Tips and Tools

5 responses to “Cloud Computing – An Overview

  1. I’m looking forward to up-coming posts. :)

    Just a quibble, though. “Cloud” is a nice metaphor for something that is free (or, at least, jointly owned) and freely accessible. When I store photos on MSN Skydrive or share and edit work documents on Goggle Documents, I’m using borrowed space – with permission – on a privately owned parking lot.

    The air is the air. My hard-drive belongs to me. Online tools are owned by somebody else. Isn’t calling them part of “the cloud” – necessary as that is to be understood these days – just a little misleading?

    Just musing.

  2. g

    wendell: i guess it could have been called “air” (unless adobe patented what we breath). I think the metaphor, cloud, gives the notion of something tangible. visible but untouchable?

    i think the cloud will have a freeness to it. inevitable really. as open source becomes a more viable and acceptable method, the cloud could in fact become free for the most part. look back at what has popped up in the past few years as far as storage goes. right now i can think of several sites that provide unlimited free storage.

    i’m glad you liked the article. i look forward to the next one which will be a far more ambitious article!

  3. tim

    Bill, I like your very first statement that the “cloud computing” computing concept is not new. The idea of computing “in the cloud” has been around a widely used at least as far back as when web-based email came into the picture. The ease of being able to check your email from anywhere there might be internet access has been loved for some time.

    More and more of our computing, like wordprocessing and data storage, seems to be heading to “the cloud.”

    I’m looking forward to your article on keeping information secure in the cloud!

  4. JoWazzoo

    Cloud is just an extension of where we have been and where we are going. Distributed machines and networks were humble beginnings. I remember a time I saw a bunch of networked,diskless PCs and my assignment was to tell management where they needed to go. Over 200 stations. This was circa ~ 1984, before the Internet had really taken off.

    I for one beg to differ that this will be free (if that was inferred and some people do infer that). It may be open, but not free. (TANSTAAFL – There Ain’t No Such Thing As A Free Lunch) – someone pays somewhere, someone owns things and someone controls things. The real key components/philosophy of Cloud computing will be privacy, security and ownership. When/If some users give up their C: Drive or a networked Drive, some corporations have hard choices to make.

    Don’t get me wrong. I love the 7.302 GB of “free” space I have with Gmail (which I use for various and sundry purposes:-)). My little rendition of cloud. But it ain’t free. And anyone who thinks Cloud computing is or will be “free” doesn’t understand basic economics or finance. Richard Stallman, firm believer in all things free, thinks the concept of Cloud computing is a stupid trap.