Slow Computer? – 6 Free Solutions

It seems to be inevitable that a computer running a Windows based operating system will slow down over time.

There may be numerous reasons why your computer behaves badly and is no longer the speed demon it once was. Simple maintenance, practiced regularly, which is easy even for a non-expert, can keep your Windows based PC running smoothly at peak performance for years.

The most common problems that have impact on a computer’s speed and behavior are listed here, with the appropriate free software solution. This is not however, an exhaustive list.

In most cases, since a slow computer is generally being impacted by more than one problem, you will probably find that you will have to resolve the issue using more than a single solution.

Your computer takes a long time to boot and operates slowly.

Too many programs loading on system startup is a common cause of longer than normal boot up times.

Solution: WinPatrol

winpatrol-2

Using WinPatrol you can monitor your startup programs and services, cookies and current tasks. Should you need to, WinPatrol allows you to terminate processes and enable, or disable, startup programs. There are additional features that make WinPatrol a very powerful addition to your utility toolbox.

Fast facts:

Decrease CPU Usage and Conflicts

Express boot option

Download at: Download.com

A jam-packed, jumbled registry can be one of the chief causes of computer slowdown and malfunction. A messy registry can often put a brake on your system, cause programs to stop working properly, and aggravate you while you hang around waiting for the operating system to load at a snails pace.

Solution: Regseeker

reg-result-2

Many applications, on being uninstalled, leave behind “orphan” registry entries. They don’t remove all traces of themselves; causing problems such as sluggish performance, system lockups, or a bloated registry that takes longer to load on startup. With the click of a button, Regseeker will scan your registry for these fragmented files, and safely remove them.

Fast facts:

Scans and cleans your registry

Multifunctional

Performs tweak operations

Clean out your startup entries

Add/Remove program entries

Adjust color schemes

Change personal information entries

Download at: Download.com

Disk fragmentation, especially on intensively used systems, will degrade performance over time. This is a good task to automate by using a third-party tool.

Solution: Auslogics Disk Defrag

auslogics_disk_defrag

The program is extremely easy to use, does not require any analysis phase and is faster than most disk defragmentation software I’ve tested in the past, and it’s free. In my view, it’s one more maintenance process in helping me get the maximum performance out of my hardware.

Fast facts:

Improve computer performance and stability

Increase your productivity – no more waiting for files to open

Defragment disks in minutes

Disk fragmentation map and detailed fragmentation report

Download at: Download.com

Your Hard Drive is full.

A full Hard Drive will not function efficiently since you require at least 2 – 3MB of free space for programs to run smoothly. If you lack this much free space, you should uninstall unused programs on your primary drive.

Solution: Revo Uninstaller

revouninstaller

Revo Uninstaller is a superior program to uninstall programs from your computer. This free program with its advanced and fast algorithm scans before, and after you uninstall an application. After the program’s regular uninstaller runs, you can remove additional unnecessary files, folders and registry keys that are usually left over (those “orphaned” registry entries we talked about earlier), on your computer. This feature is a definite plus.

Fast facts:

Superior uninstaller

Free

Fast algorithm scans before, and after uninstall

Removes additional unnecessary files, folders and registry keys

Download at: Download.com

Running a Disk Cleaner will help to optimize your system by emptying the Recycle Bin, Temporary Setup Files, Downloaded Program Files, Temporary Internet Files, Old Chkdsk Files, Temporary Files, Temporary Offline Files, Offline Files, and so on.

Solution: CCleaner

ccleaner2

For a full and through cleanup, I highly recommend CCleaner. As well, you should consider copying archived files such as pictures and music, to CD’s or DVD’s to free space on the Hard Drive.

Fast facts:

Frees up valuable hard disk space

Advanced features to remove unused and old entries

Comprehensive backup feature

System tray icon

Privacy tool

Download at: Download.com

Your Internet connection is slow.

Even the fastest Internet connection is a lot slower than any relatively modern PC, so make sure your Internet settings are properly optimized.

Solution: Ashampoo Internet Accelerator 2

ashampoo-internet-optimizer

Ashampoo Internet Accelerator is a great little application that makes it easy to perform this simply task. Ashampoo Internet Accelerator 2 is an excellent free Internet connection optimizer.

Fast facts:

Free

Fully automatic

ISDN, DSL via LAN cable or cable modem, DSL via wireless LAN

Improvements in performance connection

Download at: Download.com

Malware Infections.

It’s possible of course, that the performance of your computer has been adversely affected by malware infections. If you believe that’s the case, read my article on this Blog, “Need Free Security Programs? – 10 of the Best!

Once you have removed system-clogging clutter, ensured your Internet settings are properly optimized, are satisfied your system is not infected with malware, and performed the other simple maintenance, your PC should satisfy you with its capabilities.

26 Comments

Filed under Cleaning Your Computer, Disk Cleaners, Do you need a new computer, Freeware, Hard Drive Maintenance, Registry Cleaners, Slow Computer, Software, System Utilities, Utilities, Windows Tips and Tools

26 responses to “Slow Computer? – 6 Free Solutions

  1. g

    i’ll have to try out regseeker. i’ve been using ccleaner for my reg cleanups and revo to uninstall programs. winpatrol is my startup monitor as well. great programs!

    another useful startup/bootup program i use is Autoruns which is a comprehensive program that shows everything that starts/boots.

    • billmullins

      Hey Glenn,

      Regseeker is a great registry cleaner with a ton of additional tools.

      You’re right about Autoruns – couldn’t live without it.

  2. Pingback: Slow Computer? - 6 Free Solutions « Bill Mullins’ Weblog - Tech … | Computer Internet and Technology Articles.

  3. danita

    Dear Bill,
    I got your name from a neighbor who thinks you might be able to help or stear me in that direction.
    I have a Laptop, windows xp home sp 3 installed. I have been using AOL for several years, dial up. Recently Last several months)I began using a Linksys wireless card which captures signal from a belkin54g router in my apt building. My apt has free internet access so I recently cancelled my AOL. Two days ago my internet stopped working. I can’t get online but the network connections icons show that there is access and say that I am not able to connect. I went to my neighbor (who suggested I contact you, he said that you were really great and would answer my email if I sent one.) to see if it was a building problem but I could get online easily in his apt.
    I don’t know if I am being really paranoid here or if my apt manager has locked me out of my apt or if the belkin router is miss working or if AOL has somehow stopped my online privedges unless I use them…What could be the big problem?
    Also, when I checked out the properties of the network connection I discouvered that my firewall is turned off and greyed out!I called microsoft about it and they gave me the malwarebytes site. I found a trojan nestliing and took it out. Also I should say that around Christmas I completely uninstalled and then installed the c drive so these problems are not old ones, they are recent.
    Thank you for any ideas on these subjects.
    danita

  4. Pingback: Slow Computer? - 6 Free Solutions « Bill Mullins’ Weblog - Tech … « provaaa

  5. Pingback: Slow Computer? - 6 Free Solutions « Bill Mullins’ Weblog - Tech … « Tips

  6. Great list. Winpatrol has always been a must have for me. The dog can be a little annoying though – especially when you don’t know what he’s alerting to.

  7. Thanks for the tips.

  8. matt

    i dont useauly trust programs myself being a ict student i know other ways to speed up my pc with out dl other stuff what requires hdd space

  9. incogman

    Hey, that Regseeker is NOT free. It searches your drive finds the stuff and makes you register.

    Your headline is seriously wrong. Do you sell the software?!@!@!

    • billmullins

      Hello!

      Knock, knock – is anybody there?

      Without a doubt, Regseeker is one of the most popular, and effective, FREE
      downloads on the Internet!!!!!

      I’m not sure if you’re a Troll, or you are just reading challenged.

      Whatever – in the 12,000 + comments I’ve received on this site, yours is the
      ONLY one that has been insulting.

      Took a look at your site and then I understood – you are a white supremest.
      In my view, a reasonable definition of someone who is mentally ill.

      The shame of it is, you’re a terrific writer. What a waste!

  10. Good stuff. Checkout ZoneAlarm if you need a good, easy-to-use, free, FireWall. The more secure your PC is, the faster it will run.

  11. whatsonmypc

    Bill,

    You must have “accelerated” your computer with these tools because your blog theme changed and it is faster too! I love the theme… It initally threw me off for a second and I thought I was about to become a victim of Phishing scheme… Just to doublecheck though… This is you Bill, Right?

    Rick

  12. Very nice intersting article , thanks for sharing dude . It really show me a new sense :-)

  13. Removing installation files really speeds up your computer.

  14. g

    i downloaded regseeker (the free version) and it scanned my files and DIDN’T ask me to register.

    thanks for the tip.

  15. tim

    Thanks for the quick list! Many of these solutions are somewhat new to me but I’ve been using Ccleaner (a link to a review post I wrote) for quite some time and I’ve fallen in love with it!

    (the ccleaner link above is a link to a review post I did on my blog some time ago)

  16. g

    stick around tim! bill completely changed the way i handle computer security. he advocates only the best.

  17. tim

    Thanks, g, I just subscribed so I can keep up! Keep up the good work Bill!

  18. Anonymous

    You don’t need to download most of those programs, since they are already included in your computer (if you have Windows XP). Only regseeker is actually needed.

    Winpatrol – Just go to run and type “msconfig”. Click on the “services” tab to disable whatever service you don’t use, and “startup” to disable anything you don’t want to load at startup. For the services, you can also type “services.msc” in run to view them more in detail. If you’re not sure which ones to disable, this article helps: http://www.masternewmedia.org/news/2006/04/12/slow_computer_speed_up_your.htm As for cookies, you can view and delete them in your internet browser’s options. To terminate current tasks, press ctrl+alt+del, and end whatever useless application and processes.

    Regseeker – That one is useful I admit, since deleting entries manually in regedit can be risky. But I would rather use Ace Utilities, which can pretty much do any function mentioned in this article.

    Auslogics Disk Defrag – Pretty much the same thing as the Disk defragmenter in start / accessories / system tools.

    Revo Uninstaller – Just go in control panel and click “Add or remove programs”, voila!

    CCleaner – Disk cleanup in start / accessories / system tools already does a good enough job at cleaning your junk.

    Ashampoo Internet Accelerator – Go to http://www.dslreports.com/stest and make a speed test, then a tweak test. You’ll then have a list of everything that’s wrong with your connection, and what you need to fix. Once you’re done, you’ll have a MUCH faster connection and download speed. You can always use the accelerator as well if you want, but it won’t make much of a difference.

  19. To the poster above who said this

    >>>
    Revo Uninstaller – Just go in control panel and click “Add or remove programs”, voila!
    <<<

    Try Revo uninstaller yourself as it uses the programs own uninstaller that you are trying to remove then just see how many registry entries it leaves behind which revo uninstaller will then remove.

    Revo is a million times better than Windows own Add/Remove programs uninstaller because it cleans up all the unwanted register entries that the original software just leaves behind to fatten up your registry.

    This is a no brainer!

    Well done Bill, love the blog and I am not a bloggy person but this is the only one I follow. Keep up the good work.

    God Bless

    • Bill Mullins

      Hi Andy,

      Thank you for your kind comments.

      I quite agree, Revo Uninstaller is a great free application.

      Bill

  20. I really like the free version of MalwareBytes to remove pests. It is a catchy name and does a GREAT job! Be ready for conficker.E on 5/5/2009! Cinco de Mayo…ole!