Cloud Computing – Is Your Head In The Cloud Yet?

This is a guest post by Glenn Taggart of The Crazy World of G, who brings a background as a high level super user, to the Blogging world.

cloud[1] As Glenn explains “Even though I spend most of my day at a desktop or on the road (in the Pacific NW), with my laptop, I have an insatiable thirst for leading edge computer technology that helps me get my job done faster.

I firmly believe we are on the verge of an open source cloud computing world. The company I work for is making great strides in making our software web accessible (which is no small feat!) I am excited to share my cloud research as it evolves”.

Take a look at some of the Cloud applications Glenn has discovered, and has put to good use.

HOMEPAGE

iGoogle – I love all things Google and this is my first stop when I enter The Cloud. Check out the Radiohead theme to customize iGoogle.

WEB MAIL

Gmail – integrates nicely with pretty much everything. It’s also the consummate beta so if you are a geek wannabee, you can make sure to tell everyone you are testing beta software.

RSS READER

Google Reader – The best RSS news compiler.

OFFICE DOCS

Google Docs – Word processing, Spreadsheets, calendar, etc.

FILE HOSTING

Mediafire – Unlimited file hosting for all types of files. I use it to back up my media and it has an excellent photo album view that lets you share files and folders. Highly recommend.

PERSONAL DATA / PASSWORD MANAGER

Clipperz – I’m still a little weary of putting my bank account info in The Cloud but Clipperz uses a pretty strong encryption method which is fine for storing your other passwords.

BOOKMARKS

Delicious – Does an excellent job managing your web bookmarks and integrates nicely with Firefox.

PHONE CONFERENCING

Rondee – I use it and it works great.

Calliflower – I use this service as a backup. Haven’t had to yet…

FILE COMPRESSION

Shrinkfile – Compresses/Extracts files to zip, etc.

FILE CONVERSION

Zamzar – I use this to convert open office docs to Microsoft doc formats. It will pretty much convert any file you throw at it to a compatible format.

IMAGE HOSTING

Rapidpik – I use this to host image files for my blog on occasion. Very fast and no sign up required.

PHOTO EDITING

Photofunia – Uses face recognition technology to insert your mug in a variety of different poses.

Face In A Hole – Another face recognition site. Just upload your favorite face photo and choose the pose.

PixiFX – Online image editor. I like the various borders they offer (among other effects). Once again, upload your photo and choose your effect. User friendly.

MEETING SCHEDULER

Diarised – I haven’t had the opportunity yet to use this but I’m anxious to. Very nice layout.

CALCULATOR

Ecalc – This is the daddy of all things calculated and converted.

LARGE FILE SENDER

Filemail – I use this every once in awhile when I have to send a large file(s) to someone who’s email won’t accept large files. This happens to me frequently.

FAX

Drop.io – Online fax machine. It’s a pain to use but it works in a pinch.

Another promising cloud technology that I’m keeping my eye on (I already registered, it’s not yet available) is Grand Central which has just been purchased by Google. Check it out, it looks pretty cool.

14 Comments

Filed under Cloud Computing Applications, Freeware, Geek Software and Tools, Google, Interconnectivity, Networking, Productivity Software, Recommended Web Sites, Software, Web Development, Windows Tips and Tools

14 responses to “Cloud Computing – Is Your Head In The Cloud Yet?

  1. What a great list. I very much appreciate Glenn for assembling this article and sharing it with us. Thank you, both.

  2. streamer

    Good list. Thank you. For online Photo editing try as well http://funphotobox.com It is amazing and has plenty of funny effects. For image hosting I like http://imageshack.us

  3. Johny

    If you want to search for files on mediafire and other sites try http://www.shufs.com

  4. I think Google aquired GrandCentral some time in 2007. Most people I’ve heard that use it are happy with it.

  5. Bill,

    Thanks for the shout-out to Rondee. If any of your users would like a personal demo of Rondee’s free conference calling service, we’d be happy to oblige. Just have them email andre [at] rondeeinc [dot] com

    Andre

  6. g

    Bill has given me the opportunity to focus my efforts on the cloud. it’s about time to update that list! I look forward to writing future “cloud” articles. Thanks again Bill.

    Andre: Rondee works excellent! I have an architect i do a lot of work for and after some somewhat expensive conference call set ups with clients, i stumbled on Rondee and turned my architect friend on to it. now anytime we need to conference with clients, we do so at Rondee! Great product.

    Dave: I’d sure like to get an invite to grand central! i put in for one about a year ago. i’ve noticed google has shelved some of their projects but grand central has not been shelved so that tells me it is still in the works. The technology looks very promising.

  7. Bill,

    Great list of “cloudware”… I am in the process of adding a “cloudware” component to my blog. I will definitely be taking a look at each of these that Mr. Taggart has compiled.

    Great Job!

    Rick

  8. Pingback: Cloud Computing - Is Your Head In The Cloud Yet? « Bill Mullins …

  9. JoWazzoo

    As someone who has only recently began to think about “the cloud”, I am having a hard time understanding some things. It really seems to me that there are several concepts collectivized under the notion of “the cloud”.

    I understand this:

    http://www.maluke.com/blog/amazon-elastic-compute-cloud-ec2

    and that concept in general. It’s just a different form of distributed computing, kind of an extension to the concept of a LAN (which is how I have always viewed the internet.)

    But when it gets to the SaaS arguments, my brain starts turning to mush.

    While I certainly, as a long time advocate of privacy & security concerns, appreciate the P/O/S (privacy, ownership, security (c)) issues related to tossing things out to the ether, I have a tough time with this line of thought:

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2008/sep/29/cloud.computing.richard.stallman

    viz EC2 above.

    Ditto for the naysayers as summarized here:

    http://blogs.computerworld.com/the_dark_cloud_crowd?source=NLT_SEC&nlid=38

    I want to understand this. Any guidance?

    JoW

  10. Pingback: What’s in your cloud? « What’s On My PC

  11. Hello. I’m a co-founder over at Passpack, an online password manager not unlike Clipperz. Both use what’s called the Host-Proof Hosting encryption pattern for online data privacy.

    You can download a Host-Proof Hosting library (MIT & LGPL dual-licensed) here:

    http://code.google.com/p/passpack/

    Here’s to hoping we see some more Host-Proof Hosting application sprout up in the cloud. It’s not just password that need to be kept private.

    Cheers!

  12. Max

    Another good site to fast photo editing:

    http://funphotobox.com

    FunPhotoBox is similar to photofunia from the list but has different effects